Greetings all! I'm new and I have a question - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Eva Jansson Varnju
  • 1 Post By snout

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 10-29-2018, 07:56 PM Thread Starter

Greetings all! I'm new and I have a question

Hello! I'm a new JK owner and I'm still getting my proverbial feet under me. I own a 2018 JK Sport S named Flint Ironstag (obviously, only the most noble of names will do). I've owned him for four months and have been off-road driving every weekend until the weather starting turning bad. It's something I loved to do as a kid with my dad and I'm so excited to be able to do it again, but this time behind the driver's seat. I'm still learning a great deal about this new hobby and have been absorbing as much information as I can as quickly as I can. I may have some pretty basic questions sometimes, so bear with me

My first question is: would I have any issues with 265/70R/17s (BFG K02s)? I got new, better tires last week and the shop put 275/70R/17s on, assuring me that it's very unlikely to cause any problems. The stock tire is 255/75r17. Unfortunately, I've encountered a little bit of rubbing with the wider tires. They're going to swap them out for me, but I want to make sure I've selected the right size, since I went with the shop's suggestion (of tire size, not tire type) last time and it didn't quite work.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 10-29-2018, 09:03 PM Thread Starter

I believe it is the lower control arm. I'm learning my vehicles components, but that appears to be it. I'm inclined to go with the 265/70r17s and if there is still any rubbing I can look into adjusting it. I don't want to go with a tire much smaller than that.
post #3 of 7 Old 10-30-2018, 05:01 AM
Super Moderator

Garage

well, Eva , you’ve landed yourself and ‘ Flint Ironsides’ in the right place. Welcome to JKO