New to Jeep Modding - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 07-03-2018, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Question New to Jeep Modding

I just picked up a 2018 JKU Sport and I am planning the perfect on-road build that can do some light to descent off-roading and some beach driving. Although this is my second jeep (the first being a 2015 Rubicon I leased), I am new to the performance modding world.

Looking for recommendations on parts and modifications.

Current build plan:
2.5 inch lift (nitro shocks)
20x12 wheels (open to different suggestions) wrapped in 35" tires
Forced induction until I can afford a Hellcat swap.

This are the specs I am pretty set on so far, but open to all suggestions.

Main goal is to gain on-road performance and comfortable enough to be a daily driver.

Thanks in advance!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-04-2018, 02:22 PM
Rock God

Welcome To JKOwners
post #3 of 8 Old 07-05-2018, 07:06 AM
JKO Addict!

kill the 20x12 wheels, they are no good on a jeep.17"x9" is as big as you should go. Cost, tire choices, ride quality, off road performance, people laughing, wear and tear on your front axle, clearance issues, scrub radius.

Shocks with adjusters would be a good thing to research so you can change the settings for on road and off. 10" travel should be plenty. Consider on board air for inflating tires after wheeling. When running in sand you want to be down around 8 psi.

Look at metal cloak for your lift and don't cheap out there. Make sure you get a complete kit with adjustable everything including steering. Your drive lines should be fine and you really don't need to look into aftermarket driveshafts. Look into the exhaust mod for extra clearance for front driveline droop .Do some C gussets. You can upgrade the axles once you put that motor in.The factory motor with 35's is plenty of power. No need for engine mods.

Good luck with the build.

Some build info here: