Install for gears and ARB... do myself or get done at a shop? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 02-01-2012, 08:55 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Install for gears and ARB... do myself or get done at a shop?

I am trying to decide whether to have my gears professionally installed or giving it a go myself.

If I get them professionally installed, how much should I expect to pay and where are some good places in Seattle? If its reasonable, I am very willing to pay. But, if not..

I am an okay home mechanic. I typically work on my own vehicles and have done a variety of things to a variety of vehicles... probably the most difficult/extensive doing a drive train swap in an old YJ. Definitely not an expert, though.

With that being said, I have heard that installing gears is a pain in the ass. Should I even attempt? I am ok at following directions. I figured I could pick up any special tools at harbor freight. Anybody have any experience?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-01-2012, 10:14 PM
Rock God

Send a message via Yahoo to joeglock

Call nortridge4x4. You would have to take a ferry over to the bremerton/silverdale area.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk
post #3 of 10 Old 02-02-2012, 06:35 AM

I work at an offroad shop in Wilmington, NC. I've always been a do it yourselfer and I can't remember ever paying someone else to work on my car. That being said, I would pay someone else to set up gears. If you do it wrong you could very easily destroy yours gears in a hurry. I don't know about where you are, but we charge $300 per axle for labor to set up gears. We don't add anything to the price if you want a Detroit or lunchbox locker installed at the same time. I'm not sure about ARBs as they are a little more labor intensive.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 02-02-2012, 07:20 AM
Granite Guru

Foot in mouth

Last edited by Grenadeacorp; 02-03-2012 at 10:33 AM.