Any good places to recalibrate speedometer around tampa area!? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews
Any good places to recalibrate speedometer around tampa area!?

Hi everybody, I recently switched to 33s and now my speed is off by like 8% (too slow).

I don't want to buy the programmers because I'll never use them!.

Are there any dealerships or shops around here that don't charge like a million dollars to recalibrate the speedometer?

Also, is it true that a regular dealership can't even do 32+ tires? That's ridiculous if it's true.

I didn't care about the speed gauge, but then I realized i'm also affecting the total mileage indicator thing, which is going to make me do oil changes at wrong intervals.

Thanks in advance!!!
Youri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:20 PM
JKO Addict!
 
Grant211's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Orlando, Florida
Age: 43
Posts: 5,747
Feedback: 0 reviews

get the superchips - you'll get more horsepower and other things.
Grant211 is offline  
post #3 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

I'm not all that interested in more horsepower, at least not enough to mess around with those things. Just interested in my speedometer not lying to me!!!
Youri is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:28 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

dealer can only do up to 32" tires (stock size for a rubi)
bigger than that you'll have to get a programmer
some have had dealerships charge over $100 to do it, AEV procal is $139 and will do that and a lot more.
and you say 'mess around with those things' like its actually difficult, or involved to do?

If plugging something in and pushing a couple of buttons seems traumatic to you, wow I really don't know what to say!


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #5 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:36 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

Oh mi gosh, I think everyone here works for programmer companies :[.

It's not just a matter of pressing buttons and clicking it in, I have to order it and wait for it!

This is the worst thing that has ever happened, I can't believe my miles are way off.
Youri is offline  
post #6 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:48 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youri View Post
Oh mi gosh, I think everyone here works for programmer companies :[.

It's not just a matter of pressing buttons and clicking it in, I have to order it and wait for it!

This is the worst thing that has ever happened, I can't believe my miles are way off.
No we just value flexibility and hate getting buttraped by the dealerships!

ordering and waiting a couple of days for it to be brought to me vs having to make an appointment, stop for the day, take your vehicle in and wait while the service monkeys try to figure out what you want done, then you're twiddling your thumbs in the waiting room for an hour or more?

plus my local dealership is so backed up, I could order from a narcoleptic monkey in china and still receive it before they could get around to making an appointment for me.

Plus paying nearly as much for the wonderful dealer experience to get it done ONCE vs being able to do it myself, and do it again if I ever change tires, plus all of the other crap a programmer can do?
Hmmm, yeah I MUST be on the payroll


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #7 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:52 PM
Rock God
 
jk_techcrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OHIO
Age: 45
Posts: 1,184
Feedback: 0 reviews

Get the damm Superchip already,but not from Jeff. LOL

Póg mo thóin!
jk_techcrash is offline  
post #8 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 10,250
Feedback: 0 reviews

LOL that's funny right there.



karnuvore is offline  
post #9 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 06:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

Totally not getting the programmer just out of principle now.
Youri is offline  
post #10 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:01 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 10,250
Feedback: 0 reviews

haha you have principle



karnuvore is offline  
post #11 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:05 PM
Granite Guru
 
Goodwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: spring hill/brooksville FL
Posts: 454
Feedback: 0 reviews

Take it to the dealer. They will put it at 32", your 33" tires are probably around 32 1/2" max....bam , only 1/2" off, which is nill.

You feel good because you didn't buy a programmer, we still think you are "retarded" cause you don't listen to quality advice.

Everyone is happy!!

more wagging, less barking
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Goodwood is offline  
post #12 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:07 PM
Rock God
 
jk_techcrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OHIO
Age: 45
Posts: 1,184
Feedback: 0 reviews

I guess but Oh nevermind

Póg mo thóin!
jk_techcrash is offline  
post #13 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:12 PM
JKO Addict!
 
paramaniac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Philly, PA
Age: 45
Posts: 5,049
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to paramaniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youri View Post
Hi everybody, I recently switched to 33s and now my speed is off by like 8% (too slow).

I don't want to buy the programmers because I'll never use them!.

Are there any dealerships or shops around here that don't charge like a million dollars to recalibrate the speedometer?

Also, is it true that a regular dealership can't even do 32+ tires? That's ridiculous if it's true.

I didn't care about the speed gauge, but then I realized i'm also affecting the total mileage indicator thing, which is going to make me do oil changes at wrong intervals.

Thanks in advance!!!

if you go to the dealership and have them flash it for you the difference goes from +or- 8% to a 6% difference. the superchip or Procal will be your best bet.

my 33" tires are set for as high as the starscan can go and i am bout 6mph diff in either direction on the speedo


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
paramaniac is offline  
post #14 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:13 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

Where are you folks buying your aev procals?

Any sponsors that are around florida so shipping is super fast?

This experience kinda reminds me of this other jk forum, where newbies are brainwashed to buy certain products.

Just kidding, <3.
Youri is offline  
post #15 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:15 PM
Rock God
 
jk_techcrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OHIO
Age: 45
Posts: 1,184
Feedback: 0 reviews

Can tell you where were not buying the Superchip. Sorry I'll stop now.

Póg mo thóin!
jk_techcrash is offline  
post #16 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:17 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Winter Haven, FL
Age: 47
Posts: 10,250
Feedback: 0 reviews

Id buy any tuner (even hypertech) before I'd pay the dealership for a computer reprogram. Might as well get some bells w/ your whistles.



karnuvore is offline  
post #17 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:23 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youri View Post
This experience kinda reminds me of this other jk forum, where newbies are brainwashed to buy certain products.

Just kidding, <3.
more like the opposite where noobs are given DECENT, HONEST advice WITHOUT ulterior motives instead of brainwashed to do whatever is currently favored by the cultmaster.

The only reason I even mentioned AEV was because its the cheapest, and closest in price to getting a stealership reflash!

I wish you the best of luck with your jeep, cuz I'm not gonna try to help you anymore out of priciple
logic - specifically #4


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #18 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:35 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

OMG, don't stop venom!! I was just joking, I don't think you're spreading propaganda, I believe you!! Thanks for wanting what is best for me, that's really considerate. Don't see that much anymore!

Tell me where to get it, is quadratec a good place? I keep hearing that they're always out of stock on things. Don't want to support northridge either.
Youri is offline  
post #19 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:42 PM
Rock God
 
jk_techcrash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: OHIO
Age: 45
Posts: 1,184
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Youri View Post
OMG, don't stop venom!! I was just joking, I don't think you're spreading propaganda, I believe you!! Thanks for wanting what is best for me, that's really considerate. Don't see that much anymore!

Tell me where to get it, is quadratec a good place? I keep hearing that they're always out of stock on things. Don't want to support northridge either.
If your looking for the Superchip check out this. IMO

https://www.jkowners.com/forum/showth...ight=superchip

Póg mo thóin!
jk_techcrash is offline  
post #20 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 07:55 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

Not trying to be a dick, but I'm never going to do business with superchips because their website sucks and won't support my platform and instead of gracefully falling back to some reduced-version it just tells me "F*** off"

What that tells me is the whole company has a really ossified mentality about doing business. I bet you NEED windows do their online updating thing and for their software as well.

Don't want to deal with a company like that, don't want to give my money to people who can't make a website work in 2009. What other tricks do they have for me? Are they going to 'lock me in'? Are they going to start charging me for updates? Are they going to break my jeep and then make me jump through hoops to fix it?
Attached Images
 
Youri is offline  
post #21 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 08:19 PM
Granite Guru
 
Chunks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: St Augustine, Florida
Posts: 491
Feedback: 0 reviews

I got a fix for ya. Take a white paint pen and re-mark your speedometer display for the proper speeds.....there done. No "support" problems and you don't even need windows. Cost ya maybe a dollar.

08 Silver Unlimited
3.5" RE Superflex
35" Pro Comp X Muds
5.13 Superiors
Rampage front
Rancho rear
Tabor 9K
Spidertrax and stockers
Line-x
Chunks is offline  
post #22 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 08:31 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

That's a pretty good idea. I kind of was thinking that there should be an easier way to adjust the needle (just adjust some spring behind it, or make it heavier/lighter), but there isn't, everything is controlled by computer!

The problem for me though, is not the speed, but the fact that my odomoter is going to be off.

Anyway, I'm going to get the aev procal probably.
Youri is offline  
post #23 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 09:10 PM
JKO Addict!
 
TheBeatenPath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: where its hot and sunny
Age: 26
Posts: 5,839
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

what browser do you run then chrome?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Everyone else can BLOW themselves cause im bad as FUCK!
TheBeatenPath is offline  
post #24 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 09:17 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: land o lakes, fl
Posts: 130
Feedback: 1 reviews

I'm on linux and firefox 3.5.3.

That's irrelevant though, they should never just say "YOU CAN'T SEE THIS PAGE".

How can you figure it's a good idea to alienate customers like that? Over stupid tech reasons?

There's no excuse, at all. Ever.

They lost a customer for life because of ignorance and refusal to code to standards.

Imagine if someone is blind? Have fun browsing through their stupid site on your braille screen reader thing, blind person!
Youri is offline  
post #25 of 53 Old 10-15-2009, 10:17 PM
Rock God
 
thebigtman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Albuquerque
Age: 45
Posts: 1,658
Feedback: 1 reviews

Youri,

I just ordered my hemi swap kit and I have a brand new never opened procal that I was going to put up for sale.

$110 (this includes shipping) and I'll fire it out to you via USPS Priority Mail Flat rate.
thebigtman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome