Any Help Planing a Moab Trip??? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 02-06-2016, 04:58 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Question Any Help Planing a Moab Trip???

Hey folks. I am looking for help planing a trip to Utah. I want to hit some of the better trails and I am looking for advice from people who have been on them.

I am looking to avoid novice/entry level trails. My two goals are to 1.) challenge myself without killing myself or having to fly home and 2.) enjoy some amazing scenery.

Plans I have already made so far...

1.) Taking 1 to 2 months out of work for travel from Virginia to Colorado and Utah.
2.) I expect to go in either Fall of 2016 or Spring of 2017.
3.) I want to run between one to two trails a day about 3 days a week.
4.) Due to my disabilities, I can't camp, so I would like to limit my trail rides to trails that can be completed by a typical driver in 16 hours or less.
5.) I have been wheeling for 30 years.
6.) I have a 2015 JKUR with an auto trans. By the time I go, it will have the following mods...
a.) Teraflex 2.5" lift
b.) 37" MT's
c.) Flat Fenders
d.) Full skids
e.) 4.88:1 gears (or in that general range)
f.) Upgraded front and rear axles
g.) Welded axle tubes
h.) Front and rear Dana 44 axle truss'

Any recommendations on trail names and their location would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Spaz
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-06-2016, 05:38 PM
Granite Guru

Your rig will be fine on 95% of the trails in Moab. Make sure you have lockers in both axels. Do a Goggle search and you will find tons of info on YouTube and as much reading as you can stand. Another good source for trial ratings is Red Rock 4x4 club. Their site has all the trails and a description /rating. Also Rugged Routes just released the Fun Treks Moab for the Lowrance GPS. http://ruggedroutes.com/funtreks-gui...om1maefsl3kl55