First Trip to Rausch Creek W/Almost Stock 15 Rubi - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-27-2015, 06:00 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

First Trip to Rausch Creek W/Almost Stock 15 Rubi

Hey folks. I headed out to Rausch Creek for the first time ever yesterday. I am going to an event there on May 16 and wanted to be sure I was going to be able to rock the trails and not hold the group back. Had a blast and bumped into some very friendly folks.

I really had no idea what to expect. Stuff I read online and videos I've seen really do the park no justice and really didn't prepare me for what trails there are really like. So, I figured I would write this trail report for people who have never been, but want to know what's what.

I have over 30 years of experience doing mild recreational off-roading. I'm driving a 2015 JKUR with a Teraflex 2.5" taller springs. Nothing to fancy. The Rubicon has front sway bar disconnects, front and rear lockers, and 32" MT's. There are also factory skid plates on the gas tank, transfer case and rock sliders on the rockers.

Keep in mind, your personal experience at the park will vary depending on your skill level and the vehicle you have. That said, I think regardless of if you have a stock JK or a decked out crawler, your going to find trails to have fun on.

Here is a quick overview of the trails I went on.

Green Trails - We used B shortcut, B, C, D, E, H, J, 11, 11 shortcut, and H.

I found that most of the green trails I used could be driven at high speeds (15-20 mph) in 2x4. There are a few spots I came across that slowed me down to a crawl due to rocky water and uneven terrain leading to significant suspension articulation.