JKOwners Forum banner

BDS lifts any good?

57K views 14 replies 11 participants last post by  Imped 
#1 ·
What does everyone think about BDS lift kits? Junk, or on par with Rock Krawler? Just trying to make sure that I have thought through my choices. Pretty sure I am going with Rock Krawler though. Thanks for the help!

#2 ·
I have no experience with them, but I have a friend who owns a reputable 4WD shop in Charlotte. According to him (they sell BDS) he likes their stuff, but they have had some issues with sagging and the like. They do offer a good warranty, but if you have the money I would go the Poly/Teraflex/RK route. Many of the vendors here will hook you up. Check my sig line for my recommendation.

:beer:

#3 · (Edited)
TBH I helped my brother install a BDS 4" kit in his JK and it seemed to be good quality the only thing I really disliked was it uses a drop pitman arm on the steering box? for the price the control arms where beefy and weighed a hell of a lot more then my RK pro arms...:D He has the 2" fox shocks and I had a chance to swap for a few miles on a trail with some mixed terain and it handled perty good and since then we have wheeled with each other a few times in the low speed stuff it flexes well but in the high speed stuff is where the biggest difference is I just leave him in the dust and wait for him at the end of the trail or any crossroads with the RK pro kit and the King shocks yeah I spent 3000 more then him but it was well worth it! :laughing:

#5 ·
My buddy has their 4.5" short arm and it's a giant piece of shit. He's wheeled it twice and it did fine but on the road it did nothing but fail.

both rear uppers have stripped out, the front trac bar mount holes wallowed out, the shocks are all toast after less than 2 years. Non adjustable lowers means you're at whatever they put you at.

i wouldn't recommend it to ANYONE.