Any campers here from NC/SC? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 05-14-2008, 11:04 AM Thread Starter
Rock God

Any campers here from NC/SC?

I'm fairly new to NC and I've been searching the net for camping areas around me. I prefer the primitive style of camping out in the middle of nowhere. All I'm finding are the places in parks where you have to follow rules like "no alcohol". I like to crack open a beer while sitting in front of the camp fire. Back in PA, we used to camp along the Allegheny river in the northern part of the sate. It was nothing more than a few clearings along the river in a remote area. I'd like to find something like that around here, but unfortunately, those types of places can be found by "word of mouth" only. Anybody familiar with any "non park" camping areas like that around here?

'07 Rubicon
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-15-2008, 12:09 PM
Granite Guru

No but I will say this for the state parks in SC (the ones I have been to) as long as you are not noisy or a problem they don't say anything to you about having a beer in your campsite regardless of the regs. Most people use a coozie for the beer. I have even seen folks break out a bottle and pour mixed drinks. As long as no one complains you will be fine. The behaviour that gets you in trouble is the loud noises and music that is usually associated with the beer and fire that a lot of rude people who fail to realize it is a campground with other people do.

All who wander are Jeep drivers.
post #3 of 14 Old 05-15-2008, 12:24 PM Thread Starter
Rock God