Unsure and need advice - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-13-2013, 11:14 AM Thread Starter

Unsure and need advice

I am new to the JK and need advice. I had a TJ in the past that I built but when it comes to my unlimited I am unsure of what to do. I am thinking of a 6" long arm with 35s. Is there anything else I need to consider such as driveshaft mods and gearing on my daily driven, weekend beaten on my 2011 Black Ops Rubi?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 04-13-2013, 11:18 AM
Rock God

Garage

Do some searching around the forum. 6" on a JK is a lot of lift for 35's.

I've owned two TJ's and there are huge differences in the suspension and fender clearances. Most people will agree that what it takes to run 35's on a TJ does not translate to the JK world at all.

Most people are doing 2.5" to 3.5" of lift for 35's with stock flares. If you go with flat flares you can run 35's with no lift.

'09 JKUR. Metal Cloak overlines, TF 3" LA, 35" Nitto Trail Grapplers, Home built winch bumper, custom built sliders, RK Drag Link and HD Pro Tie rod, Adams front shaft, TF Big Brakes, Speed Bumps, Warn M8000
I.Y.A.A.Y.A.S.
post #3 of 11 Old 04-13-2013, 11:23 AM
Granite Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by TJDukit View Post
Do some searching around the forum. 6" on a JK is a lot of lift for 35's.

I've owned two TJ's and there are huge differences in the suspension and fender clearances. Most people will agree that what it takes to run 35's on a TJ does not translate to the JK world at all.

Most people are doing 2.5" to 3.5" of lift for 35's with stock flares. If you go with flat flares you can run 35's with no lift.
X2... If you want 6" of lift, you should be looking at 40+" tires, and if you are going with tires that size, there is A LOT that needs to happen to make that a reliable rig.

2008 Steel Blue JK Unlimited Rubicon
RE 4.5" LA
37" KM2's on 17x8.5 MB72's