can I replace the steel valve stems on JK - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 02-25-2009, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

can I replace the steel valve stems on JK

Looking at the stupid location of the steel valve stems on my Jk, it won't be long until a rock rips them off. A buddy told me I can't change them out for rubber because the steel stems have the sensor for the "thing a ma jingy".

He could be right, I am new to JK's. But I would sure like to replace that steel stem with a rubber stem. Anyone have solid info on this. I tried a search but wasn't smart enough to use the correct phrase so I got nothing.

Thanks!

JonB KE6GFB
Lake Tahoe Hi-Lo's
S. Lake Tahoe, CA
08 Wrangler X 4dr. 6sp: Winched, bumpered, Atlased, 5:13 Rubi axles, 37" Kevlar MTRs, Treks skids.
87 Toy BJ70 LandCruiser. Winched, bumpered, 35ed, locked, slidered, dieseled.
87 Toy 4r. Winched, bumpered, dual cased, 35ed, locked, slidered. -Sold, to pay for Jeep parts!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 02-25-2009, 10:35 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

The steel ones have the tire sensor for air built in it.
post #3 of 10 Old 02-25-2009, 11:06 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

What happens if I replace them with rubber stems?

JonB KE6GFB
Lake Tahoe Hi-Lo's
S. Lake Tahoe, CA
08 Wrangler X 4dr. 6sp: Winched, bumpered, Atlased, 5:13 Rubi axles, 37" Kevlar MTRs, Treks skids.
87 Toy 4r. Winched, bumpered, dual cased, 35ed, locked, slidered. -Sold, to pay for Jeep parts!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 10 Old 02-26-2009, 12:06 AM
JKO Addict!

Garage

Your TPMS light will stay on and beep at you 4 times every time you start it. Eventually, you'll get used to it and not even notice it. I know because that's exactly what I did.
post #5 of 10 Old 02-26-2009, 06:17 AM
Rock God

Garage

You can also get an AEV Procal to set TPMS to 0 to stop the beep at startup.
post #6 of 10 Old 02-26-2009, 06:20 AM
JKO Addict!

Garage

Quote: