Lifted- Rear Axle ride quality & flexibility - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 Old 12-22-2011, 08:57 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!

Lifted- Rear Axle ride quality & flexibility

I am more researching than looking to buy, for right now, on what the best areas are to focus on. My rig has about 3-1/2" of lift on it, naturally the ride quality has taken a hit the higher it gets. I'm a bit sensitive to changes within my vehicles, I tend to pickup on very subtle things (due to that is what I did for a living).

The front does just about everything I want it to. Rides better (compared to the rear), flexes out well and is super low maintenance. The only thing I have to tend to is the aftermarket track bar, the front AEV brackets have taken care of the caster and have helped the ride by dropping the back of the arms down. Zero complaints up there.

The rear isn't getting along very well. It rides like an unloaded pickup in the back (w/stock Rubicon shocks and new Skyjacker Hydros). It also takes a ton of weight on it to get it to articulate (see pics). Tomorrow, just for kicks, I am going to loosen all the arms and allow them to find home. Just on the off chance I forgot when swapping the springs a month or so ago, may help...but probably not.
  • As far as the rear's off-road flexing. Is the rear sway bar even worth the trouble of removing for trail use? On road I want to keep it (not for debate), but off road..it seems like I can use all the help I can get to make the axle do some work. I have thought about a front anti-rock (or similar) to help force more weight over the rear axle, however that may just end up making the entire rig be more stiff than really "helping" it articulate.