33s with no lift 16x8 or 16x10 - stock Jeep virgin advice - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-10-2011, 02:26 PM Thread Starter

33s with no lift 16x8 or 16x10 - stock Jeep virgin advice

Defloration is ready to begin.

After a couple months rolling on OEM's, my pocket is ready to splurge and conclusion I came to is 16's with 33in tires. Black 2011 JK and still mulling over Matt black or chrome - aluminum.

Lift-wise, no plans except budget spacers (at the moment )

All advice welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-10-2011, 03:32 PM
Wheeler

I've been running 285/75R16 MTR's on steel wheels for 4 years. These are nearly 33" tall. Recently I've been looking to get some new rubber in a 35" variety and the pickin's are slim. The 16" tires that I have found are all load rating E which is pretty beefy. In my experience they do not flex over rocks and such as well as a D rated tire, even aired down.

When I bought my 16" steel wheels back in '07 there were no 17" steelie's available. I'm wishing I had 17" wheels at this point only because of the tire selection. Unless you have some underlying reason to run 16"s I'd go with the 17".

YMMV.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-10-2011, 05:12 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

you could even go the 15x10 route... just watch those calipers!

-Marc
2010 JKU -- 3.5" RE Lift -- EVO LCAs -- ARTEC Truss and TB mount -- 17" Procomp 7069 -- 37" Maxxis Treps -- Heated Trucklite Headlights -- Synergy Drag flip -- Synergy TR -- Synergy bj's-- EVO 1/4 Pounder -- EVO Tire Carrier -- 4 gal rotopax -- TF Third Row -- China AEV Snorkel

Coming up:
D60 Front 99-04 Ford ARB w/ 5.38
14 Bolt rear ARB w/ 5.38
EVO Long Arm
40/42 MTR's
17" Spyderlock Beadlocks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 06-11-2011, 01:07 AM
Granite Guru