JKU homemade rock rails - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By Dekooy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 Old 03-25-2019, 04:56 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

JKU homemade rock rails

Hello,
So I wanted rock rails for my '11 JKU. The only problem is that I'm extremely cheap. So what's a guy to do?

I built my own! I think they turned out great so I thought as a new member I should contribute some fabricating content for the site and do a write up.
They were made over the course of a month, working whenever I had the spare time or the motivation. I am a Tool and Die maker by trade, but unfortunately don't have access to any of those great machines anymore, so all the work you see was done by file, hacksaw, sawsall, 10" drillpress and 4 1/2" angle grinder............it sucked hard sometimes!!
All flat metal is .250" and the tube is 2" dia x .120" wall. They weigh about 80 lbs each!

Here the mounts have begun.....I choose to use the body-to-frame mounts (3 on each side) and had to fab up the mounting brackets to fit in the frame mount cups. Think like ACE hardware rock rails, but instead of the one frame bolt as the attachment point I used the two on either side in the mount itself. Using these allow for a larger bearing surface for my bracket and the mount, hopefully resisting any twisting forces better . That's a 2 1/4" hole on a mastercraft 10" bandsaw...slow and steady wins the race!!

Here you can see the mounting brackets taking shape and how they fit into the frame mounts. I tried to keep the initial rail tight up to the bodywork, but with enough clearance to avoid crumpling the pinch seam if it takes a huge hit.

Now for the secondary rail to offer side protection. I bent it up on my PA 12 ton pipe bender..