RK suspension help - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 07-21-2018, 10:36 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

RK suspension help

Ok guys I need some help. I'm running the RK 2.5" X Factor kit on my 2012 4dr. JKU. I want to go 3.5" (because I like the look more than anything as the 2.5" performs exceptionally well) and eventually to 37's once the current 35's wear out. I'm mechanically inclined and have no issues installing the new springs, and shocks. My only problem is pulling all the arms and adjusting those correctly. I have never done it before and don't want to screw it up. How hard is it and can a guy do it in his driveway with some help from You tube? Next question is should I stay with RK springs or go to Metal Cloak as I've read their springs are really good? If I plan on doing some overlanding with a roof top tent will the aforementioned springs work or is there a specific spring for overlanding? I know a lot of questions in 1 post but i appreciate any advice, thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 07-22-2018, 08:34 AM
Rock God

You can definitely do it in the driveway. I've done it many times. The biggest pain is loosening and tightening the jam nuts. The other issue that you may have is just getting the axle to line up. But none of it is impossible. With regards to the springs I can't really talk about the Metal Cloak as all I've had are Rk on mine. You could always call RK and ask them if they have different springs for heavier weight.

2012 SLV JK Unlimited Rubicon
post #3 of 8 Old 07-22-2018, 09:45 AM
JKO Addict!

If you think RK exceptionally rides well whey would you look at different brands?