4wd shifter question - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:16 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
drulg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Feedback: 0 reviews
4wd shifter question

Abaout a couple of weeks ago I took of my front drive shaft to see if I get better gas miliage without it, anyway I haven't had time to put it back again but anyway today for some reason I grabbed the $WD shifter and realized that is loose, it shifts or moves but it doesn't actually shifts, I checked the end of the cable by the transfer case and it looks fine, but I haven't had time to check it by the shufter, any ideas of what this could be?
drulg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:19 PM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

There is a plastic grommet just like the TC side under the console. It broke like the others break.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:28 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
drulg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Feedback: 0 reviews

I guess that might be the issue, I just got one of the guys that work with me to shift while I was underneath the jeep and the cable didn't move at all, I pulled the cable by hand and he aid no shifter movent but he could hear some kind of sound, what is it involved to removed the shifter console?
drulg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:29 PM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

4 torx screws. Two in the front & 2 in the back of the console.

Take em out & lift the console enough to get at the side of the TC shifter. Can't miss it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:40 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
drulg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Feedback: 0 reviews

I apreciate that man, are the screws that are on the side of the console the ones that you are talking about?
drulg is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:45 PM
JKO Addict!
 
scottrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: St Augustine
Age: 48
Posts: 3,022
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

You are correct on the screws.

No problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
zjr- I'm not that horny, but I have been known to salivate over your meat.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
scottrock is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:45 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 46
Posts: 38
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by drulg View Post
Abaout a couple of weeks ago I took of my front drive shaft to see if I get better gas miliage without it, anyway I haven't had time to put it back again but anyway today for some reason I grabbed the $WD shifter and realized that is loose, it shifts or moves but it doesn't actually shifts, I checked the end of the cable by the transfer case and it looks fine, but I haven't had time to check it by the shufter, any ideas of what this could be?
So did you get better gas mileage or what?

2009 Black Rubicon Unlimited
Bone Stock for now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BlackRube is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 02:58 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
drulg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackRube View Post
So did you get better gas mileage or what?
To be honest I didn't noticed much difference, it was a little improvement, since I drive 60 miles a day in the highway, but for the time involved and back pain that I've got taking it off, it wasn't worth it, I'm putting it back this weekend and believe me that bitch is stayin there until I get rid of the jeep lol
drulg is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 05:40 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 46
Posts: 38
Feedback: 1 reviews

Roger that. Thanks for the info.

2009 Black Rubicon Unlimited
Bone Stock for now
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
BlackRube is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 05:44 PM
Rock God
 
ronjenx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,877
Feedback: 0 reviews

People with the locking hub conversion have also reported no significant mpg gain.
ronjenx is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 06:02 PM
JKO Addict!
 
tkob1060's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ :)
Age: 51
Posts: 7,281
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

console removal here
https://jkowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=11960


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dancin Dan View Post
A Jeep just zipped past my house and I could swear I heard the driver yellin:

"The tkob is coming!! The tkob is coming!!"
tkob1060 is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-03-2010, 09:14 PM
Official Monkey Business
 
TEXASKEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denton Tejas
Posts: 12,215
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to TEXASKEV Send a message via Yahoo to TEXASKEV

Quote:
Originally Posted by drulg View Post
To be honest I didn't noticed much difference,
X2 on that. I ran with no front shaft for a couple of months and tracked the numbers. Not really any difference that I could tell. Woulldn't you know it, the one time I have no front shaft we got the only ice storm of the year in Dallas. Took 2 hours to go 15 miles on the hwy.

Let us know what you find with the shifter.

08 2Door Red Rubicon. Rock Krawler 5.5 Longarm Coilover, Polly rear Coilovers. AEV hood & wheels, 37"KM2s, JE Reel 1350 shafts, 5.38 Yukon gears, Superior axles, Shrockworks stubby, Fab Fours rear, sPod, Rebel Offroad brakes, Warn winch and lots more.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
TEXASKEV is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-04-2010, 08:03 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
drulg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: HOUSTON, TX
Age: 41
Posts: 220
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by TEXASKEV View Post
X2 on that. I ran with no front shaft for a couple of months and tracked the numbers. Not really any difference that I could tell. Woulldn't you know it, the one time I have no front shaft we got the only ice storm of the year in Dallas. Took 2 hours to go 15 miles on the hwy.

Let us know what you find with the shifter.
That's what I was thinking, the time I have no front shaft I'm gonna need the 4WD, so right now I'm getting it re balanced, since is out might as well, and will be back in it's place tomorrow, on the shifter just like SOCOTTROCK said, there's a plastic bushing that holds the cable in place, I'm not sure if it's the same as the one by the Tcase 'cause I only found small pieces of it, but it looks like the same system, so I'm going to try to use the same one since I have few spares and the parts dept. at the dealer can't figure out the parts number and tells you that you need the whole cable
drulg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome