Skid Plate questions - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 07-27-2010, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Skid Plate questions

I'm a newbie on this - have a 2010 Sahara 4 door. Thinking of adding some skid plate protection underneath - what is the most important? What should be done first? Recommendations?

TKs
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 07-27-2010, 01:13 PM
Rock God

Order up the river raider set and be done with it. I've got a 6spd Rubi, so mine just came with the transfer case skid and the gas tank skid otherwise I'd have their set. The 2 stockers worked fine out at Badlands all weekend. With a lift, my oil pan and trans were pretty far out of harm's way. I'd still like to get one for those locations, though.

2010 Jeep Wrangler 2dr Rubicon with a part from everyone...
post #3 of 6 Old 07-27-2010, 01:22 PM
Granite Guru

I would save up and buy the whole set at once.
Im running rock hard and they work well. But there is a lot out there and im sure most of them are good
Poly performance
River raider
Poison spyder might have something to??
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 Old 07-27-2010, 03:09 PM
Rock God

Garage

River Raider has their full skid package on sale now, 10% off. I just ordered one up for my 4-door. This will cover your oil pan, engine, trans, transfer case and gas tank. If you don't go with a complete kit, at least get something to protect your oil pan. Jeeps don't run well with no oil.

Relocate your steering stabilizer before you bend it. Relo brackets run about $50 from a variety of manufacturers, or $100 if you wait too long and bend the shock. If you've decided on what lift you're eventually going to buy, get the relo bracket from that manufacturer to ensure it's compatible with any trackbar bracket you'll need later.