JK Owner looking for stock ring and pinion - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 Old 07-19-2010, 12:33 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

JK Owner looking for stock ring and pinion

Hey all, I waited to throw this out there until I had exhausted all my other resources, and alas, that time is now. I’m looking to find a JK owner (non-Rubicon) that is planning to or has recently re-geared their front axle (The infamous Dana 30 pretzel).

The short version is I grenaded my front ring and pinion a while back in an off road excursion with my 2007 JK Unlimited, and because I’ve been looking for work for the last year and a half without any success, I’m looking to pick up a cheap (or even free with shipping?!?) set of used front gears. I'm looking for a low-buck fix until I'm working again, and can invest in new axles.

Here’s the long version. I purchased the JK back in early 2008 used, back when I was a successful Public Relations Manager for a well-known Marketing firm. It’s mostly stock, but it does have a Teraflex 4-inch lift kit, 35-inc tires, Polly Performance Boatsides and a Shrockworks front bumper. I had big plans for my rig that included skid plates, new axles front and rear, lockers, a winch, rear bumper and roll cage- you know, the same sorta things we all talk and plan on doing to a daily driver/weekend wheeler. In October of 2008 I was laid-off due to my clients reducing their marketing budgets, and I have since been trying to find work in my field with little to no success. It seems that businesses aren’t looking to spend money in marketing during these though times, nevertheless in public relations/media relations. Needless to say, the last year and a half has been a rough one, costing me my savings, my apartment and my girlfriend in the process. One of the few things that I’ve allowed myself was the occasional trail run in Big Bear to escape the reality of my current situation.