Power options for a JK newbie - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 29 Old 07-14-2010, 10:01 AM Thread Starter

Power options for a JK newbie

I'm a JK newbie. I have always owned 4 cyl cars for their gas mileage. I have always wanted a Jeep (deciding to throw gas mileage out the window). I bought a 2008 2-dr, manul, X w/soft top a few years ago. I am not that impressed with the "get-up-and-go" of the V6 in the JK. A few of my 4 cyl cars had better acceleration. I have read similar situations on various threads: someone commented the JK has a mini-van engine?? I know the JK engine was probably designed for more torque than speed - is there a compromise solution to be found anywhere?

I know the Jeep is not a race car - however for the "thrust-to-weight" ratio, the V6 should move this vehicle faster than it is actually going - IMO. Am I wrong? Sure, its not aerodynamic in any real sense - but when I shift from 2nd into 3rd - I seem to loose power. Other vehicles seem to zip by. So there is my frustration. I love my Jeep - I just want a little more Zip...

I read that replacing the stock filter with a K&N drop in filter would generate more HP. I did this and noticed no difference. I then read that replacing the entire air intake system with a CAI would "unleash" the V6's hidden potential... I just installed an Air-Aid CAI...it sounds "different" and it might actually generate a few more ponies - only if I really step on the throttle. I think I was expecting more... a lot more. Especially for the price of the CAI.

Now I am wondering if the CAI needs to work in conjunction with a throttle-body spacer and/or cat-back exhaust. I have read on this and other sites a plethora of info on exhaust systems ranging from a $100 up to $700 - everyone has their favorite... So here is my question (sorry to ramble on)