Why is my D60 pumping oil out the breather? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 06-29-2010, 01:06 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Why is my D60 pumping oil out the breather?

I have a currie d60 in the front. Whenever the hubs are locked it leaks oil out the breather hose. I'm guessing maybe when it was installed they put a little too much oil up front and that if I just drive around with the hubs locked for a while all the extra will eventually come out? WTF? Thanks.

2012 Rubicon Unlimited
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 06-29-2010, 01:10 PM
Rock God

I would pull the fill plug out and see if it was over filled. If so let it drain out till it stops and put the plug back in. It will make more of a mess letting it come out the breather.
post #3 of 11 Old 06-29-2010, 03:17 PM
JKO Addict!

Garage

I'm new with currie! What I have read about this problem the past couple of days: I share this

- oil get too hot
- oil foams and spews
- too short vent hose
- o-ring or air leak in the differential

These were the main culprits

BTW what brand, weight of oil you running? What carrier you running..

08 Rubicon - AWE FAWK TOO MUCH TO LIST!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by andrelopez99; 06-29-2010 at 03:33 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 11 Old 06-29-2010, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankie945 View Post
I would pull the fill plug out and see if it was over filled. If so let it drain out till it stops and put the plug back in. It will make more of a mess letting it come out the breather.
I'll try this tomorrow.

2012 Rubicon Unlimited
post #5 of 11 Old 06-29-2010, 04:17 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrelopez99 View Post
I'm new with currie! What I have read about this problem the past couple of days: I share this

- oil get too hot