Issue wiring Rigid Dually D2's to factory fog light switch... - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 07-28-2015, 09:16 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Feedback: 0 reviews
Issue wiring Rigid Dually D2's to factory fog light switch...

I utilized the provided rigid harness which includes a relay. I wired the blue wire from the harness that would normally go to their switch and spliced it to the white with orange stripe wire from the factory fog light wiring. I then spliced both black ground wires and didn't use the red wire that would normally illuminate the switch. Splices were soldered and heat shrink tubed. Mounted the relay near the battery and connected the rigid harness to the positive and negative terminals on the battery. They turn on however when driving they cut on and off. I double checked that everything was tight and secure and the problem cannot be duplicated by wiggling the wires anywhere along the harness etc.
I called Rigid and they advised I purchase and install "warning cancellers" which appear to be anti flicker modules just before each light. Has anyone else had to do this when running the led lights through a relay? If I have to use the warning cancellers could I just ditch the rigid harness all together and power the d2's right from the factory wiring? Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks
Sean...

2014 Billet Silver JKUR
sjd78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-29-2015, 06:49 AM
Rock God
 
bluewave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Houston/ San Antonio TX
Posts: 1,058
Feedback: 0 reviews

That's because the factory lights use a pulsed can bus signal to turn on. This will burn the lights out real fast, you need to use a real switch. Rigids are not meant to be run on the street anyways

Texas Complete Truck Center
5670 S Interstate 35
New Braunfels, Texas
(210) 412-6379

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
bluewave is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-29-2015, 07:24 AM
Gunnery Sergeant USMC (ret)
 
Uncle Sams Misguided Child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Tucson AZ
Age: 52
Posts: 21,999
Feedback: 8 reviews

People usually use the stock wiring to power the relay that then gets its power directly from the battery instead of running through the canbus system.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lohchief View Post
If people don't take a stand now,you'll be bitches under their thumbs tomorrow.
Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
I think too much of a pressure variant between Earth and outer-space... lack of oxygen... something like that.
Uncle Sams Misguided Child is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 Old 07-29-2015, 08:29 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Sams Misguided Child View Post
People usually use the stock wiring to power the relay that then gets its power directly from the battery instead of running through the canbus system.
This is exactly what I'm doing. The stock wiring is being used to trigger the relay in the Rigid harness which gets power directly from the battery. However the lights still cut on and off.

2014 Billet Silver JKUR
sjd78 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 07-29-2015, 08:31 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluewave View Post
That's because the factory lights use a pulsed can bus signal to turn on. This will burn the lights out real fast, you need to use a real switch. Rigids are not meant to be run on the street anyways
I'm using the factory wiring to trigger a relay that is powered by the battery. The factory can-bus isn't directly powering the lights. Also I don't plan on using the rigid's on the street. I just want to use the factory switch to trigger them.

2014 Billet Silver JKUR
sjd78 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 09-29-2015, 02:07 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Feedback: 0 reviews
led fogs

has nothing to do with can bus
factory sends a pulse current even after jeep is shut down, maybe 20 extra seconds, you need a 6400u capacitator in the circuit to stop flicker
timb7734 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome