Battery Relocation; Thoughts? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 07-27-2015, 08:36 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Battery Relocation; Thoughts?

has anyone relocated their battery to the trunk/cab of the JK or in any of their other vehicles

I briefly researched other vehicles and how they did it. One forum i was reading said the best way was to also remotely mount a solenoid for the starter so that the start cable isnt always hot, and to run a smaller gauge cable just for accessories. and others say they just leave the solenoid in the engine compartment. I'm an electrician so the concept isnt hard to understand, i just want to know what the right way to do it is. no one wants an electrical fire on the trails

MISHIMOTO IS JUNK
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-27-2015, 08:56 PM
Rock God

BMW has been remote mounting batteries in the trunk and under the rear seat for years. They run a full size cable from the battery to the Starter. They also put a jump spot under the hood so you can use conventional jumper cables.so I would say leave the solenoid under the hood and run a hot cable forward. just make sure to set up the cable with a fuse or circuit breaker incase you get chaffing that rubs thru the out sleeve it will trip and not burn your shit to the ground.
post #3 of 14 Old 07-27-2015, 09:32 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tspevacek View Post
BMW has been remote mounting batteries in the trunk and under the rear seat for years. They run a full size cable from the battery to the Starter. They also put a jump spot under the hood so you can use conventional jumper cables.so I would say leave the solenoid under the hood and run a hot cable forward. just make sure to set up the cable with a fuse or circuit breaker incase you get chaffing that rubs thru the out sleeve it will trip and not burn your shit to the ground.