total newb!! - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 07-27-2015, 09:17 AM Thread Starter

total newb!!

hey everyone!

need some advice as this world is completely new to me and really would appreciate some real feedback from the experts!

basically long story short, my wife is wanting to pick up a new 4 door unlimited... its basically going to be a daily driver. she loves the lifted look, bigger tires etc. also likes being up higher while driving to see better as she's been in a couple life/death accidents so feels more comfortable being higher for better view of everything. doubtful it would be used in an offroad environment... but if it was, it would be dirt roads for camping or on the beach etc... a bit of an overkill vehicle, but its what she's wanting.

done a bunch of searches on the forum and this is what i am understanding...

doing a 2.5" lift and 35s won't require anything outside of the suspension parts?

doing a 4" lift and 35's or 37's requires additional things w/ the steering and the axle?

long term daily driving is there disadvantages to either? any other questions i should be asking myself or looking into? its all a bit overwhelming for a newb to the whole gig, and was hoping to get some opinions / advice on the subject!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-27-2015, 09:30 AM
Rock God

total newb!!

What you said pretty much answers your own question. First thing you need to decide is what is its intended use, you said nothing hard core. So I would look into getting a new sport and having the dealer install the lift. Just for warranty issues, I've never had any issues with my local dealer but for the wife intend to play it safe.

A small budget boost and 35's will prolly do the trick. I'd try for 4:10 gears.

"Government is not the solution, it is the problem."
"We are never defeated unless we give up on GOD."