Gearing question, how much of a difference? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 07-12-2015, 09:50 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Gearing question, how much of a difference?

I know the regearing subject has been beaten to death on here. But I have a questions that I could not find an answer to using the search feature...

My current setup is an '08 Rubicon with the stock gears, 6-speed, Ripp stage 2 and 37" Wild Peaks. I have been running this way for about 2 years with little to complain about.

Last year we got back into whitewater rafting and were towing the boat around with our '06 4runner. Boat and trailer weigh about 800 lbs total (lots of wind resistance though). At the end of the summer we traded the 4Runner for a VW Jetta TDI thinking that the Jeep could take over towing responsibilities for as little as we were doing.

Fast forward to this year... more boating trips are happening with the extended high water in the 4 corners area, and often further away. The Jeep does OK with towing the boat as long as the winds are working in favor of the trip. When hills come into play, or the wind doesn't cooperate life sucks.

My options now are:

1. Spend a few thousand to get a dedicated tow rig and keep the Jeep. Hope for a diesel 3/4+ ton something.

2. Dump the Jeep and buy something in the $30k range and say good bye to wheeling.

3. Regear the Jeep for a $1.5 - $2k.

I have looked at the charts and watched the tach for the past couple of years and have decided that 4.88's would probably be best. 5.13's seem like they would be too much for the way we use the Jeep.

My question is, how much of a difference does the regear make? Will it be night and day, or am I still just polishing a turd?

I am not looking for the Jeep to tow like a big diesel truck, I could live with something close to the performance that our v6 4Runner had.

Jason - KB0WLI
2008 Black JKU Rubicon