Moab threatened? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-29-2009, 09:13 PM Thread Starter
Rock God

Moab threatened?

OK, guys, I know I don't have that much stature around here, but this is very troubling...

Now, let me let everyone know that I am new to land use issues...and I know we have a mixed record this year with successes on the Rubicon and failures on the Omnibus Lands bill...

Part of my getting involved in land use was joining the BRC and UFWDA and perusing information put out by them, I have noticed that Moab might possibly be threatened....

They have introduced the America's Red Rock Wilderness Bill again in the House and Senate of the U.S. Congress...as they have done for the last 20 years or so...none of the Utah Congressional Delegation supports its, so, as usual, they had to get a NY Representative to introduce it in the House and some random senator from outside of Utah to introduce it in the Senate...I don't believe this thing has ever gotten out of committee before, but this year, who the heck knows, with this Congress being more aligned with the environmentalists...

If I read the bill right, I think it would close most of the trails in the Moab area, and I am sure, a ton of others in Utah, that I am not familiar with...

I am not saying that this is going to pass or anything, I do not know, but I am concerned about it...somebody who knows more than I do, may be able to shed some light on it....I know I don't want it to pass....

Here is the bill...

http://www.opencongress.org/bill/111-s799/text

So, tell me, am I worried about nothing?