First big mod on my stock-ish JK - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 10:49 AM Thread Starter

First big mod on my stock-ish JK

hey all i'm a newbie to the scene of off-roading just got my JK a few months ago and im looking at adding my first big mod.
other than some basic accessories and some added storage my 07, JK is still stock. within the next month im gonna buy a 4" rough country LK and a set of 35"s my two questions are: What are bad-ass loooking 35s that can go on and off-road . i wont be doing any crawling but i'm looking at doin some light trails, some wet roads, and maybe some sand. i was thinking of the Dick Cepek crushers? are those any good? my other question was if i'm gonna run 35"s will i need to get new gears? or can i run with my stock gears? finally is it even possible to run 37"s with a 4" LK and stock gears?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 10:50 AM Thread Starter

oh and if i were to get new gears how much $$$ would i be looking at for parts and installation?
post #3 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 10:51 AM
Banned

Send a message via Yahoo to WTF_LOL

what is your stock gearing and what transmision?

Welcome to the forum!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 14 Old 04-14-2009, 09:22 PM Thread Starter

um this is gonna sound retarded but how would i find out what my stock gears are? i'm running a 6 speed man trans. on a 2dr 07 JK x package
post #5 of 14 Old 04-15-2009, 07:13 AM
Granite Guru

You probably have 3:73 gears. There will be a sticker on the cover you can look at. You should probably re-gear if you are gonna go with 35's. I am running 33's and If i went to 35's, I would def re gear. Would be a good deal if you can find some take off 4:10 gears from someone that has a Rubi. Honestly though, you are probably gonna want to go higher ratio. Not cheap to regear. You will just have to try out your local shops.