Smittybilt quality? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 34 Old 08-21-2012, 04:10 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Send a message via Skype™ to DaddyGo
Smittybilt quality?

Let me just start out by saying I'm kinda new to this whole Jeep thing. I've worked on them here and there for the last 25+ years but never had my own to mod as I saw fit. That being said, I finally got a new JKU Sport and wanted to start making it mine. I like the look of the Rubi rails but didn't want to pay Rubi rail prices. I'd rather spend money on other stuff and can't get the best of everything so I figured I'd save the big bucks for more important things. So I opted for the the Smittybilt versions. They're like $200 cheaper and I liked the textured powder coat finish. Matches the fenders better IMO. Anyway, I ordered up a pair and got them last week. I went to install them and one side was bowed out so far in the middle I could see the ground between the rail and the body. The other side I couldn't even install because the mounting studs didn't line up with the holes in the body. So, to make a short story long... I guess what I'm asking is does Smittybilt's quality really suck that bad or did I just get a fluke shitty set? I always thought they were a good company.

Rob-2012 Bright White JKU Sport/Rough Country 2.5" BB w/18/59 springs and Rubi shocks/Front Sway Bar Disconnects/Rubi Wheels & Tires/VDP Stubby Bumper Kit/Off Camber Light Bar/KC Daylighters/ACE Rock Sliders w/Rubi Rails/Kicker Speakers/Surprise Straps Grab Handles. The sickness is setting in!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 34 Old 08-21-2012, 04:32 PM

I have the full line of smitty built XRC armor front, rear bumpers and finders as well as sliders...all the parts i have received have been a perfect fit and look great. I think u may have just got a bad set.
post #3 of 34 Old 08-21-2012, 04:42 PM
Rock God

Hit and miss, Ive had really good luck with all there products.