Age old Question - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 Old 03-30-2009, 07:11 PM Thread Starter

Age old Question

I am new to JKO and first want to thank JKO for have such a great site.

First off up until about about a year ago I had an 08 JK unlimited Sahara. It was great, but unfortunately as all good things come to an end I bought a travel trailer and of course the jeep would not pull it.

So here is the question....

I would like to purchase a new Rubicon, but am undecided as to an Automatic or Standard. What is the general consensus here about each one. Is one really that much better then the other.

look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Nick
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 Old 03-30-2009, 07:19 PM
JKO Addict!

I would suppose everybody has preferences, but I would go manaul.

I have had both and really I wasn't sure which one I wanted when I bought my 2dr Rubicon. After driving the auto, it seems like it's just an old tech tranny. Shifting seems a bit sloppy and you couldn't really choose your gears. I drove the manual and found it to be much quicker and you could hold your gears. I find the manaul is smooth shifting and in the two door hardtop I would even venture so far as to say the thing is peppy. The auto was a bit frustrating to drive, where the manual is fun.

I drive to work about 60 miles a day in city traffic and have not regretted the manual at all.
post #3 of 26 Old 03-30-2009, 07:33 PM
Granite Guru

For me it was a simple matter of whether I wanted to screw around with shifting all the damn time while juggling a coffee cup or something else while battling traffic or rocks.

We're still swapping parts on the '09 Rubi so it hasnt seen any wheeling yet. Our built up XJ/Auto needed a bigger trans cooler but wheeled great in the rocks.

My other two rigs in the sig are both sticks - hell the Toy has three and the CJ has four of them...