is this dumb? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 31 Old 02-04-2012, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
V8 dreams

is this dumb?

ok so i'm about to buy a new lift, front driveshaft is about to go so i'm just gonna redo the entire suspension as opposed to buying control arms, more than likely gonna be a RK 3.5...

where i struggle is which one do i get?

3.5 max travel, consisting of a mid-arm package

or

3.5 long arm

i have read numerous threads about what some think or don't think is good about long arms and to be honest it just confuses me and i don't know who to believe.

i do alot of highway driving on 35s, and if i still have this JK (have been staring at stigo's for sale thread) I will jump to 37 when the time comes.

my jeep has seen the trail 5 times now, but nothing too crazy. i'm still learning.

i guess my questions are, will i regret not spending a couple hundred more bucks and getting the LA? do i even need it?

if i decide i want them later the upgrade is over 1k, to do it right off the bat looks like an extra $300-$400

just looking for facts, opinions, superstition, paper rock scissors, experience, rationale that would make you do one or the other.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
2010 Silver JKU
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 02-04-2012, 05:43 PM
Wheeler

As far as cost is concerned, labor to install a long arm kit will be quite a bit more since you have to do a lot of cutting and welding. If you were to go mid arm first and then decide to go long arm later you could always sell the control arms to get some of the money back. Also RK's mid arm kit flexes like crazy and should be plenty for most wheelers.
post #3 of 31 Old 02-04-2012, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
V8 dreams

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigb View Post