Remote Start Issue - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 02:37 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 50
Posts: 156
Feedback: 0 reviews
Remote Start Issue

My 2012 with 500 miles, remote start has taken a crap!!!! Push the button twice, horn honks, but does not start. Anyone have any issues with remote start. I did install a new front bumper last night, to include unplugging the fog lamps, and re-installing into the new bumper. I used the remote start last night, after the bumper install, and it worked. Later last night, leaving to head for home, tried remote start, and did not work. Any buttons I could have pushed to some how "turn off" remote start?? I have no idea what happened, too eraly for issues!!! Taking to the Dealer tomorrow, but would sure like to avoind the 30 minute drive to take it in.

Thanks,
Brent
Brent13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 02:45 PM
Granite Guru
 
HighTower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Mooresville, NC
Age: 35
Posts: 261
Feedback: 0 reviews

By chance what is your fuel level? I have a 10 and noticed a while ago that if it's under a 1/4 of a tank the remote start won't kick in.


Sent from my imagination.

2010 JKU Sahara
Teraflex 2.5 Coil Lift w/ 9550 Shocks
Teraflex Quick Disconnects
Moto Metal 17" 950s
Nitto Trail Grapplers 35x12.5x17
Superchips Flashpaq
HighTower is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 08:02 PM
JKO Addict!
 
rdlynch2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Albany NY
Age: 34
Posts: 3,175
Feedback: 1 reviews

Can you install a remote start with a manual transmission? I have been thinking of having one installed but heard that most places wont do it on manuals due to potential safety hazards. Anyone know?

2008 Black 2Dr 6spd D30/44
RK 2.5 X-Factor | Synergy tie rod | 35x12.5 MTRK's | BFH front | Genright rear | Yukon 5.13's | ARB front locker | Warn M8000 w/MasterPull synthetic | Rigid 10'' E-series
rdlynch2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 08:15 PM
Granite Guru
 
JKRubicon90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scranton, PA
Age: 29
Posts: 384
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlynch2 View Post
Can you install a remote start with a manual transmission? I have been thinking of having one installed but heard that most places wont do it on manuals due to potential safety hazards. Anyone know?
My buddy had a remote start done on his manuel cummins, but they made him sign some kind of a wavior saying their not reliable for any damage. I guess it kind of depends on the place you take it and how bad they wont the money.
JKRubicon90 is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 08:28 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rogers, TX
Posts: 65
Feedback: 0 reviews

Open then close the doors again. Make sure all your doors are closed right. If they aren't, I believe it won't work.

I heard of a lady who put remote start on her manual car. She had it valet parked and when she went back she walked to her vehicle. She hit the remote start. The car drove forward and hit another car. The valet attendent parked it in first gear and didn't set the brake.

Joe
Det. Yellow 4dr Rubicon
martij3 is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 12-26-2011, 11:24 PM
Rock God
 
snksknr94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 38
Posts: 549
Feedback: 1 reviews

Sounds like you may have a door not completely closed. I'd check all of them first, give em all a good shut and try the remote start again.

Aaron
2008 JK Unlimited Rubicon
snksknr94 is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 12-27-2011, 04:15 AM
Rock God
 
BLACK JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 514
Feedback: 0 reviews

if its the factory remote start, the fault codes will show up on the EVIC display.

2012 ARCTIC
SILVER. 2 DOOR.
IN SERVICE 12/17/11
BLACK JK is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 12-27-2011, 07:03 AM
Rock God
 
peanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bellevue, NE
Posts: 1,669
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Make sure the doors are shut and locked it wont start otherwise.
peanut is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 12-27-2011, 07:58 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Age: 50
Posts: 156
Feedback: 0 reviews

We have a winner!!!!! The damn doors were the issue. The rear gate was pinching the floor mat, thus ajar! What a moron I am, but thankfully avoided a trip to the Dealer. Thanks all, you all nailed the issue. I also did some reading last night, as posted above, fuel level is also a potential reason for remote start not working. If low fuel warning is on, no remote start. Smart feature for sure..... Thanks again.

Brent
Brent13 is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 12-27-2011, 08:16 AM
JKO Addict!
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tracy, California
Age: 39
Posts: 3,068
Feedback: 4 reviews

One more nanny for you: Remote start will only come on twice. After the second cycle the key must be used to start the vehicle before the remote start will work. If you accidently set off the remote start (sitting on your keys maybe?) or have a daughter that likes to press buttons you may find your remote start not working one morning!

United States Army 1997-Present

When a life or death decision must be made in seconds.....the police are only a minute away.
09rubicon is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 12-27-2011, 10:42 PM
Newbie
 
BillyPete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Washington
Posts: 9
Feedback: 0 reviews

Remote start will also not work if you have left the wipers on when you shut it down last or if the hood is not latched closed.
BillyPete is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 12-28-2011, 09:31 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 68
Posts: 156
Feedback: 0 reviews

But factory remote start WILL work if doors are not locked. 2 beeps, doors lock and vehicle starts (if doors are closed correctly and there is sufficient fuel).
trotter is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 01-08-2015, 07:14 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews
2008 Wrangler remote start

I have a 2008 Wrangler and when I use the factory remote start it will start and shut off in about 10 seconds. I have plenty of fuel and the doors are locked and shut. Any Ideas? I wonder if there is a timer that is bad?
HarleyD4 is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 01-09-2015, 12:02 AM
Granite Guru
 
halo216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: oakwood
Age: 37
Posts: 261
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlynch2 View Post
Can you install a remote start with a manual transmission? I have been thinking of having one installed but heard that most places wont do it on manuals due to potential safety hazards. Anyone know?
I just had my remote start installed and the place said they do manuals. Sounds like they program it so when you park, you have to do a series of events so the remote start works later. Like hitting break x amount of times then ebreak etc. Basically triggering to work later and verifying it's not in gear.
halo216 is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 12-26-2015, 11:56 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Age: 40
Posts: 2
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyD4 View Post
I have a 2008 Wrangler and when I use the factory remote start it will start and shut off in about 10 seconds. I have plenty of fuel and the doors are locked and shut. Any Ideas? I wonder if there is a timer that is bad?
was wondering if you ever figured this out I have a 2008 and it is doing the exact same thing. it starts up when I press the button on the remote runs for a few seconds and then for no reason just shuts off.
cbbarrentine is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 12-27-2015, 04:50 AM
JKowners Vendor
 
bigworm36's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Age: 36
Posts: 2,500
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbbarrentine View Post
was wondering if you ever figured this out I have a 2008 and it is doing the exact same thing. it starts up when I press the button on the remote runs for a few seconds and then for no reason just shuts off.
It's possible it's related to the security system. Sometimes when I got to start mine the jeep does not recognize the key and engines turn off in a few seconds
bigworm36 is online now  
post #17 of 23 Old 12-27-2015, 12:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Age: 40
Posts: 2
Feedback: 0 reviews

I was messing around with it and I unhooked the battery for a half hour and reconnected it and now everything works fine.
cbbarrentine is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 12-28-2015, 07:07 AM
Rock God
 
Victim Of Pain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 51
Posts: 1,397
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdlynch2 View Post
Can you install a remote start with a manual transmission? I have been thinking of having one installed but heard that most places wont do it on manuals due to potential safety hazards. Anyone know?
Compustar makes one for the manual. I had it on my TJ and it's flawless and fool proof. No way to start Jeep while it's in gear.

2008 JKU Rubicon. 2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod lift, 35x12.50x15 Cooper STT's on Pro-Comp D-windows, 5:13 gears, Uconnect Microphone mod, Husky Floor Liners, Mastercraft Grab Handles, Weathertech Side Window Deflectors, Hitch mounted D-Ring, Rancho Oil Pan Skid, Skid Row Evap Can Skid, and a Rugged Ridge Front Skid. Solid Diff Covers front and rear. Rock Slide Engineering Sliders.
Victim Of Pain is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 12-14-2016, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews

I just found the problem with mine. Thank you Billy Pete! My remote start was not working since yesterday. Husband took my 2008 Liberty Limited 4x4 in for new tires and they must have popped the hood for some reason (maybe to do with the tire pressure sensors...IDK not my field of expertise. Or maybe my husband opened the hood but doesn't remember) and it wasn't latched properly. After reading the comment about a door not shut completely or the back window not being latched securely, I went out to check my situation. I opened everything and shut it all back up, tried the remote start again and NOTHING. Then I noticed it....the hood was not closed properly. And to think, I drove home and back to work this morning with the hood that way. There was no warning light on the dash. So thank you all. I feel pretty good about doing the research and finding the problem on my own (with the help of some of your comments) instead of waiting for my hubby to do the detective work. :-)
Olive2008 is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 12-15-2016, 08:34 AM
Comfortably Numb
 
RubiCajun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 12,289
Garage
Feedback: 1 reviews

For others who may use this thread. If check engine light is on, the remote will not work.

08 Rubi Unlimited named Freebird

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubEXrube View Post
Cat killing would almost certainly decline if we were allowed to hunt liberals.
Asylum media group llc all rights reserved 2015
RubiCajun is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 01-24-2019, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarleyD4 View Post
I have a 2008 Wrangler and when I use the factory remote start it will start and shut off in about 10 seconds. I have plenty of fuel and the doors are locked and shut. Any Ideas? I wonder if there is a timer that is bad?
I have an '08 Rubicon with the same issue. It's not doors, hood, or fuel. This has been an ongoing issue, even after clearing check engine light. Any thoughts?
Cagoodman1123 is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 08-14-2019, 03:41 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 19
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

I also have an 08 (Sahara) experiencing this issue right now. I just replaced the alternator because the battery terminal was bad and the poor connection fried the internal voltage regulator. I need an O2 sensor so i had CEL read and realized i have voltage low codes lingering. Based on other comments, I think either the active CEL or lingering codes are causing it to shut down. I plan to pull the reset fuse up tomorrow to see if that fixes it.
shawnmichael is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 08-14-2019, 05:58 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: MS Gulf Coast
Posts: 19
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

I also have an 08 (Sahara) experiencing this issue right now. I just replaced the alternator because the battery terminal was bad and the poor connection fried the internal voltage regulator. I need an O2 sensor so i had CEL read and realized i have voltage low codes lingering. Based on other comments, I think either the active CEL or lingering codes are causing it to shut down. I plan to pull the reset fuse up tomorrow to see if that fixes it.
shawnmichael is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome