Alignment issue gone worse - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 08:59 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Alignment issue gone worse

So I take the jk in today to get aligned and get a phone call an hour later saying I need an offset ball joint because my camber is off by 0.9 degrees. Shop tells me this happens to most vehicles after they get lifted. I have rk 3.5 inch lift with high steer kit all 8 control arms and such. What could have cause such a thing to happen? Would like input as to the fact I am new to jeeps and am not that good mechanically. Also want input before I fork out 300 bucks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 09:07 PM
JKO Addict!

Do you wheel the jeep hard? Also, are your axles sleeved/gusseted? Your axle "c's" are more than likely bent which is why your camber is off. Offset balljoints will fix your issue. If you're not sleeved/gussted, and wheel hard I'd definitely suggest it.

Greg
post #3 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 09:09 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

I don't wheel hard at all some light trail riding and occasional mudding and even then I don't wheel hardly ever
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 09:09 PM
Granite Guru

My jeeps camber was off from the factory. It's my understanding no one makes a offset balljoint for the jk. I just had them adjust what they could and have 11k on it with no problems. The tires seem to be wearing fine.

The only thing is when driving it seems to want to drift to the left if I let go of the wheel.
post #5 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 09:13 PM
JKO Addict!

Camber on the jeep is not adjustable, so really the only solution if you want camber back to specs is the offset balljoints. I know it sucks to spend more money, but I'd do it along with at minimum c-gussets for piece of mind.

Greg
post #6 of 16 Old 12-22-2011, 09:15 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru