Daily driving with a manual - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 12-20-2011, 01:56 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!

Daily driving with a manual

Ok so I am still new to this jeep thing and very new to driving a manual vehicle, so being the nub i am i have a few questions, first off i have a 2010 2dr Rubicon six speed of course.

I drive about 50 miles one way to work mostly in stop and go traffic i find myself shifting at about 2000-2500 rpms is correct or should i be reving to higher rpms?

Also while shifting from first to second and third there is a sight chatter am i causing this with my poor shifting or is my clutch going bad?

And third which i would first like to thank Todd and his daughter at TWF for picking me to be the winner of the 12 bolt hummer wheels, so my question to you is how do these ride on the road i know i would have to get them re centered, is there anything else that needs to be done? Is the rock ring necessary or is it there just to protect the bolts?

I will be getting the RK 2.5" max travel pro lift within the next few months and was originally planing on running 35s to be honest i dont think i am ready for some 37s(goodyear take offs) that being said are there any decent tires out there the that fit the 16.5" hummer wheel?

Thanks for your help in advanced and sorry for all the nub questions

2010 Mango 2dr 6spd Rubicon
PSC BFH front and rear, Warn 9.5cti with viking synth line, Rigid duallys, RROR full skid,
RK 2.5 max travel pro with RRDs, 37" Nitto Trail Grapplers, Tera 44 front, Tera 60 rear with 4.88s
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 12-20-2011, 02:46 PM
JKO Addict!

Your rpm is fine, the chatter may just be to loading the engine too much..depending on your gearing a higher rpm shift or a faster shift may aid in that.

SOLD - '09 2dr Rubicon - 1.0Gal | 6spd | 37s | 4.88s |