Why off road in large caravans? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 Old 06-10-2011, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Why off road in large caravans?

Admittedly I'm new to the jeep scene. Only 4x4 I owned was a massive 77 suburban back in high school (when gas was about .69/gal). Now that I'm addicted to my jeep I am watching tons of videos and reading lots of threads.

Here's the question: What's the appeal of off-roading in large groups? I get that you are hanging out with a lot of great people but there are in-town events for that. Every video of larger groups has several shots of jeeps lined up, waiting for several minutes per jeep to attempt an obstacle. Next thing you know you've waiting 45 min or more...again, per obstacle. Go out with one or two other jeeps and you don't have to wait as long and are probably involved with each attempt in some way. Plus, you still have recovery support, still have friends around, etc, etc.

I'm NOT trying to start a heated debate. I'm genuinely curious if there's another reason other than the social aspect. Only thing I could come up with is the learning curve "might" be increased if someone better skilled than anyone you know leads (which might be reason enough). Anyone on here actually dislike the larger caravans?

Always follow a great leader. In the absence of a great leader, BE ONE.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 17 Old 06-11-2011, 12:14 AM
JKO Addict!

Garage
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

you have to remember a lot of the pics/videos are from events
events = lots of people

or they are from off road parks, most parks are only open certain weekends so lots of people end up showing up to wheel at the same time

If we all had personal ORV parks or could rent the entire park for closed events, the most people would probably opt for smaller groups.