4lo issue - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-06-2011, 11:17 AM Thread Starter

4lo issue

When we bought my wife's jeep I checked the 4wd and it did fine. Since then I added a 2.5" inch lift and 35's... Yesterday I washed it and decided to check it and make sure it still worked. From what I have read today I did it wrong. I put it in neutral and went to 4hi went to drive it worked. Stopped went back to neutral and went to 4lo went to drive it worked. Stopped went back to neutral and could not get it out of 4lo after a few minutes of trying different ways it went. I don't remember what I did but I didn't want to try it again.. Could I have possible broke the cable or what was I doing wrong other than being at a dead stop.... I'm new to 4wd's also its a 08 2dr 3.8 automatic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 06-06-2011, 11:23 AM
Wheeler

sometimes you just have to let it drift forward or backwards a little and it'll pop right out.
post #3 of 9 Old 06-06-2011, 11:27 AM
Wheeler

I know what you mean. Its a bit frustrating but seems to be the norm. I just hope that the next time I need 4Lo, I can rock it or drift a bit. I've also heard of breaking some kind of seal when trying to force it.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 9 Old 06-06-2011, 11:29 AM
Super Moderator

Garage

You didn't break the cable.....but you might have snapped the bushing where it meets the t-case shifter.

X-2 on "working" it a little.

Poly Performance - Dynatrac - Currie - Goodyear - Poison Spyder - Warn - PSC - AEV - Reid Racing - Off-Road Evolution - Flowmaster - Delta - Riddler - Micky Thompson - Daystar - Skid Row - Uniden - Rebel Offroad - Firestik - Warrior Products - Viair - HiLift - ARB - Kicker - Infinity
post #5 of 9 Old 06-06-2011, 11:34 AM Thread Starter