First Aid Kit - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 05-15-2011, 09:42 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

First Aid Kit

Just wondering what others carry on board in terms of first aid kit? I am considering replacing the little $20 kit with a bigger EMT style kit for first responders.

Just wondering what you all have for all day expeditions?

2008 Unlimited, 2" Basic lift from Rusty's, JK quick disconnects,
Firestone MT 285 75 16 mounted to
Cragar Soft 8's 16x8 w/5" backspacing
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 05-15-2011, 09:56 AM
JKO Addict!

Garage

I think there are a few threads on here somewhere but I am too lazy to search around.

I have been an EMT for 20 years and have carried various different packs - most often times too much.

I keep a pelican box (protects from the elements) stuffed full of just about everything that I need to get someone patched up. I have used it several times, once for a broken foot on the trail and several eye washes for dust etc...

Everything is kept in zip lock baggies with common items packed together (trauma/drugs/burn stuff etc...) I also write the exp date with a black sharpie so I can easily see when I need to replace something. I use the kit for offshore trips as well and will add in some stuff for neuro checks and jellyfish stings etc... I will keep oxygen and a bigger kit in the tow rig when it goes as well.

I keep the following in there at all times:

Paramedic pocket guide
trauma shears / forceps / scissors / tweezers / scalpel
Glucose checker and two tubes of insta-glucose
CPR Mask (it will accept a BVM)
3pr gloves
Waterproof adhesive tape
Ace/elastic bandage (twisted ankles etc....)
4 rolls of kerlix
12 4x4s (sterile)
8 5x9s (sterile)
Assorted sizes of band aids
Eye pads/patch
Eyewash
Sam splint <-- a must have for any kit IMO, they can be used in so many ways.
2 triangle bandage
BP cuff and stethoscope
Asprin/tylenol/benadryl/immodium