CB troubleshooting - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 11:13 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

CB troubleshooting

So I installed my CB yesterday, finally after having a long wait for the antenna cable. And it seems that I have the opposite problem that most people have. No static, no issues with power to the system, its just quiet. Total silence. I am a total newb to CBs and not that great with electronics in general, any ideas? I assume when I am driving down a highway in Houston at rush hour on channels 17 or 19 I should hear something right?

"Every man dies, not every man really lives."

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 11:39 AM
Granite Guru

Did you turn it on? Is the volume turned up?

Just kidding. Check the squelch. You may have it gated way down. You've got it calibrated per the user manual instructions and it passes any internal test features it has? Beyond that, take it to a truck CB shop and have them look at it.

2012 Rubicon Unlimited
post #3 of 7 Old 03-26-2011, 12:31 PM
Rock God

Garage

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJBeavJK View Post
So I installed my CB yesterday, finally after having a long wait for the antenna cable. And it seems that I have the opposite problem that most people have. No static, no issues with power to the system, its just quiet. Total silence. I am a total newb to CBs and not that great with electronics in general, any ideas? I assume when I am driving down a highway in Houston at rush hour on channels 17 or 19 I should hear something right?
Don't try to transmit until you make sure you can receive. If there's a dead short you can blow out your final power transistor which at today's labor rates essentially means buying a new radio (unless you can get it fixed under warranty).