AEV Procal extended idle not working. - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews
AEV Procal extended idle not working.

Hey, I just got a Procal and I cant seem to get the extended idle feture to work. I've programed the DRL's and adjusted for the bigger tires no problem. For the extended idle, I've set the switches according to the chart, followed the directions to a T and nothing happens to the idle.

I have a post over on AEV's forum but wanted to ask here if anybody had any clues.

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 01:07 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

got the parking brake set?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 01:29 PM
Granite Guru
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 456
Feedback: 1 reviews

Isn't Idle extend a "run-time" option as well - I think it only works while the vehicle is running and the unit is connected - i.e. you are winching yourself out of a large puddle and not inside - you can plug it in to increase the idle while winching remote.

2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift : Bilstein 5100's Front & Back : Rock Krawler Discos : 35X12.5X17 Goodyear MTR/K's : 2" Rock Krawler Stackable Bumpstops F/R : ProComp 7089's 17x9 4.75BS : Poison Spyder Evap Skid : Poison Spyder Brawler Lite : Spiderwebshade - Trailmesh : Recon 10,500lb Winch : Olympic Rock Sliders : Hella Black Magic Lights

gdub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 01:31 PM
JKowners Vendor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,961
Feedback: 7 reviews

Program the dip switches for higher idle then plug it in while winching.
REBEL OFFROAD is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 01:59 PM
JKO Addict!
 
venom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: East of Abilene, TX
Posts: 6,381
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to venom

jeep running in neutral or park
parking brake set (yes it checks for it)
set the dip switches to extended idle
plug it in and hit the wheel that dims the dash lights, your rpm should go up and down

I couldnt get it to work the first few times I tried because of the parking brake step- I kept leaving it out


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by My Wife
I might just go crazy and kill you in your sleep, instead of just planning it.
venom is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 03:33 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

I've followed every step per the instructions, in order. engine running(in neutral), set the dip switches, plug it in, set the parking brake and then rotate the dimmer switch...nothing.

The video I've seen of the procal showed the guy adjusting the idle while just sitting in a parking lot without winching.

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 08:59 PM
JPK
Rock God
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Chevy Chase, MD
Age: 58
Posts: 606
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by venom View Post
jeep running in neutral or park
parking brake set (yes it checks for it)
set the dip switches to extended idle
plug it in and hit the wheel that dims the dash lights, your rpm should go up and down

I couldnt get it to work the first few times I tried because of the parking brake step- I kept leaving it out
Maybe you have to set the parking brake first?
JPK is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 03-09-2011, 09:06 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'll give it a shot, Thanks.

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 05:25 AM
Rock God
 
neoxxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,776
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Yeah and try having your dimmer set to lowest...
Plug in, and slowly get the dimmer up...
You should get a higher idle speed, but I think it's max 2000 rpm... (and there is some little delay before you see the rpm go up...)

First time I forgot the e-brake and I was turning the dimmer too fast...
Nope, you should go slow...
neoxxis is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 07:13 AM
Granite Guru
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 456
Feedback: 1 reviews

^^^^ This...

I just did mine this morning for the first time (and on the first try) here is the sequence I used...

Set Dim switches (do not connect to OBD)
Start Vehicle and place in Neutral and Set e-Brake
Turn Dimmer all the way down
Plug in AEV and watch for idle to "bump up"
Slowly turn dimmer between the predetermined brightness notches and it will max at 2k

2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift : Bilstein 5100's Front & Back : Rock Krawler Discos : 35X12.5X17 Goodyear MTR/K's : 2" Rock Krawler Stackable Bumpstops F/R : ProComp 7089's 17x9 4.75BS : Poison Spyder Evap Skid : Poison Spyder Brawler Lite : Spiderwebshade - Trailmesh : Recon 10,500lb Winch : Olympic Rock Sliders : Hella Black Magic Lights

gdub is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 09:09 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

Nope

I've tried every combination of plug it in,dimmer setting and e-brake that is possible. I've even restored the jeep bake to factory settings and disconnected the battery for 30 minutes...nothing. I've even watched the video on AEV's website about the procal, did it exactly like the guy did.....nope

I'm gonna try and give AEV a call or e-mail..


Thanks for the help guys.

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 10:07 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

Here's a video of my try....
http://s73.photobucket.com/albums/i2...t=MVI_0193.mp4

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 10:37 AM
Rock God
 
neoxxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,776
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Not sure but I dont see the e-brake light in your dash...
Or is it not supposed to be there?
If I remember, I have a light in the dash telling me that the e-brake is ON...
???
neoxxis is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 10:49 AM
Granite Guru
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 456
Feedback: 1 reviews

It's the blinking "BRAKE" in the middle...

Does it work for other functions - i.e. TPMS, DRL's, etc. I didn't see the red security light flashing the dreaded "locked to another VIN' - but is it blinking???

2.5" Rock Krawler Stock Mod Lift : Bilstein 5100's Front & Back : Rock Krawler Discos : 35X12.5X17 Goodyear MTR/K's : 2" Rock Krawler Stackable Bumpstops F/R : ProComp 7089's 17x9 4.75BS : Poison Spyder Evap Skid : Poison Spyder Brawler Lite : Spiderwebshade - Trailmesh : Recon 10,500lb Winch : Olympic Rock Sliders : Hella Black Magic Lights

gdub is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 10:56 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

Worked flawlessly on all the other functions. No blinking red light either..

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 11:09 AM
Rock God
 
neoxxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,776
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by gdub View Post
It's the blinking "BRAKE" in the middle...
Wow... I checked the video twice before replying to make sure I didn't see it...
I guess I missed it anyway...
neoxxis is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 11:16 AM
Rock God
 
Northernmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 625
Feedback: 0 reviews

I got a quick question here. Does the e-brake need to stay on and the transmission in N while the high idle is performing? This would seem to be counter-productive if you're trying to winch yourself.
Northernmedic is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 11:17 AM
Ipe
Rock God
 
Ipe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The state where liberty died
Age: 51
Posts: 1,599
Feedback: 0 reviews

When I initially tried it I swore it didn't work either. The issue is that the throttle doesn't react quickly. If anything it seems to react far far more slowly than you'd ever expect. Follow the procedure listed in previous posts and then turn the dimmer S L O W L Y and then patiently wait for the engine to spool up. It takes time. Oh, it'll time out after a while if you're doing extended winching so you'll need to reset it periodically.

Good Luck


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Ipe is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 11:54 AM
Rock God
 
neoxxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,776
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northernmedic View Post
I got a quick question here. Does the e-brake need to stay on and the transmission in N while the high idle is performing? This would seem to be counter-productive if you're trying to winch yourself.
Very good point...
Why brake when you try to pull yourself out???
I guess that's why you need a winch 2x the weight of the Jeep...
Hah! for you!

[Still, if you just click it I guess it works anyway so no real braking happens...]
neoxxis is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 03-10-2011, 04:22 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by Northernmedic View Post
I got a quick question here. Does the e-brake need to stay on and the transmission in N while the high idle is performing? This would seem to be counter-productive if you're trying to winch yourself.
If you have to put it in gear(wheels spinning in the mud or you're not stuck anymore) your idle will most likely be up there anyway so you don't really need the high idle plug in. I think it's more for when you are the wincher and not the winchee. Sitting on high ground pulling someone else out.

Jordan at AEV is helping me out. I'm going to test it out after work tonight on my friend's JK. He did mention to me that the high idle feature on the procal can be used from JK to JK without having to restore the original JK back to stock. Awesome tip!

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 03-11-2011, 12:34 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

Well, the problem appears to be in my Jeep. I plugged the procal into my buddy's Jeep and the high idle worked perfect, the first time..

Any suggestions?

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 08-07-2011, 10:11 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 316
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by benny View Post
Well, the problem appears to be in my Jeep. I plugged the procal into my buddy's Jeep and the high idle worked perfect, the first time..

Any suggestions?

Did you ever find a solution to the issue? I am having the same problem.
gcally is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 08-07-2011, 12:16 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru
 
benny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Olympia, WA
Age: 45
Posts: 285
Feedback: 0 reviews

I was in contact with the guys from AEV and they suggested that I have the dealer "update" the computer in the Jeep to see if maybe because mine in an early 07 an update may refresh some parmeter. The dealer wanted $110 for the reflash....didn't really want to spend 110 more just for a extended idle at the time..

Go Play Outside.
benny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome