Static discharge problem? My Jeep shocks the s*&t out of me. - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 03-07-2011, 10:53 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

Static discharge problem? My Jeep shocks the s*&t out of me.

Ok, I know this might sound a little weird, but my JK can shock the crap out of me, and does like 10 times a day. Sometimes my dog will yelp because he gets shocked in the nose.
Today another weird thing happened. I decided to wax the body. I started off with some Meguires Diamond cut to polish the brush scratches and winter wear off of it. I was using the same polisher and pad combo I have used to polish cars 100's of times before. This time, sparks, lightning bolts, snaps and crackels coming from all the static electricity. I have been polishing and waxing cars for 20 years and have never seen this much static. I got my wife to come outside to see it, and before I even started, she touched the Jeep and I hear a loud "snap" and she screamed she got shocked so hard.
This is the same Jeep that engaged it's starter and jumped off a 25 foot cliff on it's own. It also will sometime light up everything on the dash when I first stick the key in, but the dealer can't find an issue.

I am starting to think I need to install static discharge wicks from an airplane, and use a ground wire when I fuel up.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 03-07-2011, 10:59 PM
Official Monkey Business

Garage
Send a message via AIM to TEXASKEV Send a message via Yahoo to TEXASKEV

Wow, that's strange. I've never had that happen with my JK but the winters here in TX are pretty mild. Maybe its a low temp thing.

08 2Door Red Rubicon. Rock Krawler 5.5 Longarm Coilover, Polly rear Coilovers. AEV hood & wheels, 37"KM2s, JE Reel 1350 shafts, 5.38 Yukon gears, Superior axles, Shrockworks stubby, Fab Fours rear, sPod, Rebel Offroad brakes, Warn winch and lots more.