My continuing saga with Jeep service. - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 Old 02-14-2011, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

My continuing saga with Jeep service.

This is a venting post, so be warned. I will also say, I love my Jeep for a lot of reasons, and if I did not, it would have been sold off a long time ago.

This is all in reference to my 2008 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited.

I have had a minor problem that I figured I would deal with next time I HAD to go to a dealer for a recall or something. I am an aircraft mechanic (A&P) and have also worked in automotive, got really good tools, and a place to work, so I do not take the Jeep in for services and repair, I do it myself. The times I did take it in to the dealer because it was under warranty, they usually screw it up, more on that later.
The problem I had been having is that when I put the key in, all the dash lights flash before I even turn the key. Sometimes it will not start after that until I pull the key and lock and unlock the doors. A few weeks ago I parked the Jeep in my carport in 4 LOW. I had been moving my trailer around in the snow, and 4 LOW is the only way I can back it into it's space on my snow and ice covered gravel driveway. The next morning I went out to the Jeep, unlocked it and decided to stick the key in the ignition so I didn't lose it while I unloaded stuff from the back and went and got some more coffee for the road, and my dog. NOTE: I did not turn the key, I just stuck it in the ignition.
About 1.5 seconds (it seems) after I stuck the key in, the starter engaged and the Jeep jumped forward and through the back wall of my carport. once it went through the carport, there is a 25 foot cliff down to the neighbors yard. My foot was hung up on the seat and I was drug through the wall. A witness said it seemed to stop for a second and then continued to slide down the cliff and into a POS Chevy S10 and a few trees.