• 1 Post By 5th4x
  • 1 Post By 5th4x
  • 1 Post By Guruman

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 25 Old 06-09-2019, 07:41 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Question JKU ~8000mile Cross Country Road Trip

{tl;dr}
(First time jeep owner, cross country road trip, 8k miles in 23 days, looking for help)

Hello fellow Jeep owners,

Let me start off by saying Im sorry if this post doesn't belong on this board, this is my first time ever posting on a forum and also first time owning a Jeep. With that being said, I have a 2017 JKU Sahara that I bought used with 14k miles last August. It now has ~27k miles and I've taken it mudding a few times but luckily all has been well and it seems to be in great shape. As the title mentions I am taking a ~8000k mile road trip in ~23 days, with 1 (at times 2-3) other driver(s). I will include a rough, completely maxed out itinerary below. I like to be very adventurous and wing a lot of things which do not require planning. But I love my Jeep and it will be pretty stupid to take a road trip of this magnitude without hearing from those with more experience/wisdom and are willing to spare advice, tips, stories on anything ranging from Jeep pre-trip preparation, itinerary, overland traveling, road maintenance, camping, etc. I've read a bunch of forums and watched a ton of youtube videos, but nothing really suits my situation more than a custom forum post. Me and my buddies are only 24-25 and this will be the first time any of us take a road trip longer than a few days. Thank you for your responses in advance, and I look forward to hearing about your adventures.

Florida
26h 23m ó 1735 miles to ó

White Sands National Monument, New Mexico
9h 27m ó 564 miles to ó

The Grand Canyon National Park
6h 41m -- 390miles -- to

Los Angeles, California
5h 42m ó 310 miles to ó

Yosemite National Park, California
4h 09m ó 192 miles to ó

San Francisco, California
7h 43m ó 419 miles to ó

Crater Lake, Oregon,
13h 32m ó 771 miles to ó