Bending Shift Lever ?? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By ExWrench
  • 1 Post By ExWrench

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 04-05-2019, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler

Bending Shift Lever ??

Newbie here. First Jeep, '08 JK 'X'. I searched every forum I could think of for the terms: "Shift lever", and "Shifter', but all I got was depressed. Seems like there are too many problems with the JK transmission, shifter, you name it.
So far, I'm having zero problems with mine, so I'm looking at ways to make it more comfortable for me. I've been driving sticks since 1970, although never had a six speed manual in a four wheel vehicle before. (A few bikes had 6, and the Allison in my dually has six, but that's a whole different thing). I've decided that for my taste, the shift knob/lever is about 3 inches too far to the right, in every gear, all the time. I'd love to take it out and bend the shaft about 1/3 to 1/2 way up from the bottom, to move the knob closer to me. I think that shifting into 5th, 6th and reverse would all be smoother and easier if I didn't have to reach so far. I can't see any thing on the left that would interfere with the shifter if I modified it.
So, here's the question: Has anyone on this forum ever done that? Is the shift lever malleable steel, or hardened? (In other words, can I bend it, or just break it off if I clamp it into the vise and torque on it?)
I'm thinking about buying a shift lever from a wreck and playing with it first, but that's 30-50 bucks I'm hoping you guys can save me with good advice. I've looked into the B&M lever, which has a different curve and maybe a bit of adjustment in the way it mounts, but that's even MORE money and I can't tell if it would give me the desired relocation.
Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 04-05-2019, 01:20 PM
Random Dude

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedBarber View Post