Are 37's worth the expense - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old 10-06-2008, 06:25 PM Thread Starter
JKO Addict!

Garage
Are 37's worth the expense

I've been wheeling an Early Bronco for the past 15 years, and recently purchased a '08 JKU Rubicon. I'm now trying to figure out how far I should go. I love the look of 37's but can't see why there is over $100 difference between 35's and 37's. I've wheeled my Bronco with 35's and have done every trail I have wanted to. The JKU is a bit longer then the old Bronco, and with the gas tank the ground clearance can't compete until I get in the 40" tire range. I want to be as free with the JKU as I was with the Bronco. Steady trips to the Moab, Hammers and Possibly Dusy Ershim. I plan to set up the Jeep pretty much the same no matter what tire size I run: 3" lift, cut the inner fenders, and Xenon flares; if I go to 37's I will put on a 1" body lift to help clear.

Here is the question: Aside from aesthetics, which 37's look great, is the 1" of ground clearance worth the $500-$700 more? I never thought they were on the Bronco. Will the 1" buy much on the longer JKU?

I'm not interested in keeping up with the Jones's, I could care less what the biggest and baddest thing out there is. If that was the case I would run 609's and 42's. I want a rig I can comfortably drive across the country, wheel and drive it back. I know this can happen with 35's and 37's. Thanks for the input.

Obama, The greatest gun salesman since the invention of firearms.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jscwerve View Post
This is exactly why we need to practice proper gun control.

If he was aiming down the sights correctly and had plenty of practice rounds under his belt, there would only be one side of this story.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 10-06-2008, 06:54 PM
Rock God

NO!