Possible newbie - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 06-04-2017, 03:54 AM Thread Starter

Possible newbie

So me and the wife are thinking of getting a jeep as a fun family vehicle to enjoy with our daughter. Looking at jk's and I was wondering what to look for or what to stay clear of. What we're trying to find is atleast a v6 and manual tranny at a decent price but I have no experience with a jeep atleast not since driving my Dads's 94 12+ years ago. So with the v6's how many miles is too many? How's their reliability. Hopes are to find something that will get used for some off roading and eventually be given to our daughter. Thanks in advance!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-04-2017, 07:40 AM
JKO Addict!

unless you are looking at a 07-10 with about 150,000 miles on it you are not going find the pricing decent and should just look into a new stripped down model. Wranglers just hold their value. The 3.8L 07-10 typically burns oil. The manual transmission has a good track record. 2012 had ahead issues on the 3.6L (there was a recall) There are electrical gremlins that pop up. If you are in the rust belt or east coast these thing rust pretty bad.

New JL model coming out in 2018 so it should drive down the cost of the JK a bit and you may find a good deal on a new left over JK.

If you have to find a used one I think I would look for a 2013 model. There are electronic things done after 2013 that can be affected by modifications for more serious off road performance.

Some build info here:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

[COLOR="Red"]New to jeeps, check this link
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
post #3 of 7 Old 06-04-2017, 07:45 AM Thread Starter