Post Lift Weirdness - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 03:57 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews
Post Lift Weirdness

I have a weird issue with my 2014 rubi that I just lifted.

Now, this is not my first rodeo when it comes to lifting a vehicle. I've done several jeeps, including other JK's, but this is the first time I've seen this issue.

I put a 2.5" lift and 35's on my 2 door 6 speed about a week ago. I was going to get a AEV procal for my TPMS and to correct my MPH and milage.

Well I got to noticing that my GPS is dead on with my MPH hand? How can that be? My last Jk was a 09 JKUR auto and I had to use a procal to get my milage and speed corrected? How is my 14 6 speed different?

Any of you seen similar circumstances? Am I missing some change to the newer Jeeps that you don't have to correct the MPH after adding larger tires?
saddis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 08:57 AM
Granite Guru
 
bass5money's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Age: 47
Posts: 373
Feedback: 0 reviews

I had to change mine with 2014 2dr 6 speed after going to 35" tires and 3.5" lift. the lift doesnt change the speedometer its the tire size and rotation of it.. That's weird..

2014 jk oscar mike edition. Manual. 3.5" Rubicon super flex suspension lift. 35" AT tires 17" method rims. Body armor doors. Smitty built MOD front bumper. Smittybilt 9500 lb winch, ARB twin compressor, Spod with gauge, D2 LED's.
bass5money is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 09:38 AM
Rock God
 
coilrod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Lower mainland
Age: 52
Posts: 1,620
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

What do your tires actually measure?
coilrod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 10:21 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

35 inches.

Well right at it anyway.
saddis is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

Now I'm thinking I'm not going to waist the money on a procal just to fix my TPMS light.
saddis is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 12:00 PM
Granite Guru
 
boopiejones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 383
Feedback: 1 reviews

i should probably know this, but I don't... how does the JK calculate the speed that shows up on the speedometer?

did you do a regear, and if so, is it possible that the new gears compared to the new tire circumference is identical to the old gear/tire combo so the MPH still reads correctly?
boopiejones is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 01:32 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: May 2012
Age: 33
Posts: 21
Feedback: 0 reviews

Are you talking about the GPS in the factory navigation? I believe that speed reading is driven by the speedo on the dash. So they match but are both incorrect.
Rowbarre is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 05:40 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

No regear. The jeeps drivetrain is stock.

I also thought all GPS navigation units had the signal coming from satilight? The mph on the nav should be different from my speedo since I'm running 35's with stock gears in the diffs.
saddis is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 06:27 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

Rowbarre
How sure are you that the nav unit uses the mph reading from the jeep?

I'm going to put my TomTom in the jeep tomorrow and compare the two. I'll update y'all so at least we'll know how they work.
saddis is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 08:01 PM
Rock God
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Missoula
Age: 60
Posts: 1,107
Feedback: 1 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by saddis View Post
Rowbarre
How sure are you that the nav unit uses the mph reading from the jeep?

I'm going to put my TomTom in the jeep tomorrow and compare the two. I'll update y'all so at least we'll know how they work.
my buddies did. he kept saying his speedo was spot on after 35's according to his 430N. He compared it to my phone app speedo and my garmin and his was off.
Jadmt is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 02-26-2016, 09:27 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 84
Feedback: 0 reviews

I'm 5mph off in 6th on 35's. 60mph is 65mph according to gps via the WAZE app.

2014 JKUR, manual, Metalcloak 3.5" lift, 35" MTR's on stock wheels, SPod, Baja Designs, VKS Pre-Runner rock sliders
rebltrubi is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 02-27-2016, 05:55 AM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
saddis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SC
Age: 37
Posts: 90
Feedback: 0 reviews

Thanks guys.

Guess I'll be buying a procal soon.
saddis is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 02-27-2016, 07:55 AM
Rock God
 
Boosted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: PNW
Posts: 651
Garage
Feedback: 2 reviews

Yup, factory Nav matches speedo....get the ProCal.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Boosted is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome