Casting sand in engine - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 Old 12-09-2015, 08:39 AM Thread Starter

Casting sand in engine

Hello, I'm a newbie to the community. I bought my Jeep almost 4 years ago brand new from a dealer. I took it to the dealer a week ago to check why I didn't have any heat at all and my fan was running very loud. They discovered that casting sand was left in the engine and now had blocked the radiator and heating core. After a week Chrysler gave the dealer the ok to make repairs (replacing radiator, heating core, flush out engine). I know absolutely nothing about cars but I do know that sand + vibration = extremly abrasive action. I did some research online and what I read did not encourage me at all. There is talk about the engine needing to be replaced and that there will be ongoing problems with AC and heat. The dealer will not replace the engine at this point (it has 40,725 miles) and my Jeep is still waiting for parts after being at the dealership for a week.
I'm kindly asking for advice. I don't know where to go from here and it seems that the dealer just flagged me as a "difficult" customer because I want answers. I am a 105 lb small female so maybe they think they can push me around. Should I replace my Jeep? Has there been damage to my engine? What further complications will have? Should I ask for a new engine? Thank you!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-09-2015, 09:02 AM
Wheeler