What can a Stock 4dr Rubi do at Ouray? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 04-24-2010, 06:31 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler

What can a Stock 4dr Rubi do at Ouray?

So my wife and I were talking about what to do with our week off in July and she says, "Why don't we take the jeep to Ouray?" I fell in love all over again.

I just got my 4 dr Rubi in February. All I've done is buy half doors, a hi-lift jack, and new windshield wipers. What can I do and not do at Ouray and the surrounding area? I'm a novice to off-roading, and I'm not looking for any serious rock crawling. We'll have our two boys, ages 5 and 8. We love to camp, so hopefully we can do some of that out on the trails.

Do I need to do anything to my stock Rubi, or will it be fine on the lighter trails?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 04-24-2010, 07:25 PM
Granite Guru

You should be fine if you don't want to any serious rock crawling. Lots of great scenery. Beautiful country! Just go enjoy.

Here's an Ouray Jeeping guide: http://www.ouraycolorado.com/pdfs/Jeeping.pdf Stick to the easy/moderate trails and you'll have NO problem. A 4/5 wouldn't be out of the question if you were a more experienced driver.

Last edited by Skyjump136; 04-24-2010 at 07:28 PM.
post #3 of 11 Old 04-24-2010, 07:32 PM
Granite Guru

Garage

Where is Ouray, and what does it have to offer? Stock Rubi's are very capable, with some driving skills you can do alot more than you'd think.
Oops, didn't catch the link above.

Never Underestimate The Power Of STUPID People In Large Numbers

post #4 of 11 Old 04-24-2010, 07:52 PM
Granite Guru

To be honest, Ouray is mostly great scenery and ledge roads. There are a few difficult trails, but mostly it is the scenery people go for. A Rubi should have no problems.
post #5 of 11 Old 04-24-2010, 09:40 PM
JKowners Vendor