Where to start? - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 Old 07-09-2015, 11:58 AM Thread Starter

Where to start?

I figure this is a real noob question but I am new to jeeps and off roading in general, I believe in doing things right and doing them one time, so my question is how do I prioritize my build I donít want to do things twice and I want to know what the first stages should be when building a jku.

Heres the specs of my current JKU

Year: 2012
Model: jku sport
Lift kit: 4.5 readylift (junk, came with jeep)
Wheels: wrangler duratrac 35's on granite wheels (came with jeep)

Other than that stock

Purpose of build: it is my DD but I want it to be able to handle any Trails that I throw at it with all the mandatory recovery and armor equipment and parts needed, I am not looking to do any rock crawling.

any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 07-09-2015, 01:16 PM
Granite Guru

im in the same boat as you, my jk is also my DD, camping and fishing jeep, with minimum rock crawling once in a while....

35s on the JK look very nice, but fuel economy suffers.... of course we didnt get a jk for fuel economy, but anyways, its something to consider...

my jeep came with 33s, and im just installing a 2.5" lift... some say the 33s are good with the stock jeep, and they are, they fit without any modification and the jeep looks nice... but some trails do require a little bit more gorund clearance... if i were you, i would change the 4" for a 2.5-3" quality lift (im installing a Rock Krawler), and keep the 35s, or maybe even replace them for 33s.... most of the trails dont require more....