CB Radio Ground - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 04-13-2010, 05:22 AM Thread Starter
Rock God

Garage
CB Radio Ground

Ok guys, I have pretty much everything done on with mounting and wiring my CB except for mounting the antenna (its already wired too). I have a question though... My antenna came with a stainless steel mount and its suppose to go in the license plate bracket but I decided to put it on my tailgate where I used the plate from swag offroad and removed the tire carrier. Does the antenna actually ground itself off of this plate? If so, would the painted surface of the Jeep plate on the tail gate hinder that? Or does it ground itself through the module where the power for the CB is grounded? Thanks in advance for any help...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 04-13-2010, 05:36 AM
Granite Guru

Garage

i'm not an expert but i followed the following diagram for grounding the antenna MOUNT, not the antenna itself.....hope this helps, if not I'm sure more people will chime in

THIS IS FOR A FIRESTIK ANTENNA

i used a Teraflex spare tire mount. To ground it I shaved off a small part of the coating on one of the mounting holes and ran a wire through the tailgate and back into the back of the cargo area and grounded it to the tub (had to scrape a bit of paint off of that ground but it's covered)

you'll see the lower mount bolt has an "eye" wire connector mounted, then i put the wire in and crimped it close, then connected the other end to a good ground in the cab

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|

Last edited by IndianaJeep; 04-13-2010 at 05:45 AM.
post #3 of 7 Old 04-13-2010, 09:27 AM Thread Starter
Rock God

Garage