Suspension difference question - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 04-22-2015, 05:39 PM Thread Starter

Suspension difference question

I am planning to build up a new JK Rubicon Limited to be able to do a little bit of everything when I choose to do so and as such I want the Jeep to be well balanced. I do not plan to do any rock crawling not my thing, however I am used to driving big Ford's with big V8's but I am brand new to the Jeep JK vehicle and have some questions.

I am very familiar with truck suspensions but the Ford's I'm used to are not using long arm setups like on the Jeeps so my question is if driving the Jeep on long distance drives can the long arm suspension pose any issues?

I'm planning to do a 4" lift and use 35's and is the stock gear ratio enough to power this or should I change gear ratio and if so to what?

The Jeep is not a daily driver so I can pretty much do whatever I want but most important is not to make it too much off-road where it becomes no fun to cruise in

thx
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 04-22-2015, 05:44 PM
Wheeler

A 4 inch lift is too high for 35s - they will look like Cheerios. 2.5 would be fine for the type of wheeling you describe. JKs dont "need" long arm suspensions either. For 35s on a "mostly cruising pavement" rig, look at 4.56 or 4.88. 4.10 will work, but most folks go lower.

2014 JKR "Bob" - RK X Factor 2.5, Nitto Trail Grapplers 37x12.5x17, Auto, 5.13, Rock Hard Skids, PS HD Cross member, Artec Axle Armor F&R, Artec Rear LCA Mounts/Skids, Synergy Rear Axle Side Weld on TB Bracket, PSC Hydroassist
post #3 of 20 Old 04-22-2015, 06:05 PM
JKO Addict!

Exactly, 2.5" is more then enough with flats to run a 35" tire.

Synergy, Rock Krawler, Metal cloak, pic your poison. All sell from a basic coil kit to full short arm.