ESP light ONLY (nightmare) - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 02:18 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
VolJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 35
Feedback: 0 reviews
ESP light ONLY (nightmare)

My 2014 JK Sport is stock except for bumpers and a set of 305/75R16 Adventuro M/T's. About a week after I installed the new tires and wheels the ESP light came on and ABS started to lock up on me a bit now and then (but no ABS light). When it starts freaking on me, all that happens is the ESP light blinks a couple times. Since the issue started I have had my tires toed in correctly, caster and camber checked out in spec, my steering wheel has been centered, tire balance checked and they are good, all four brake/wheel speed sensors checked and are good and Jeep has been flashed for larger tires. Beyond all of that, what else could possibly be causing this?! The nightmare part of the title was the 2,000 mile trip I took from Northern NY to southern TN and back this past week with no cruise control. My foot and leg are now killing me!
VolJeeper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 02:20 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
VolJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 35
Feedback: 0 reviews

Addition. The light doesn't come on after I start driving. It remains on at all times. Before I even take off and the light never goes off with the rest of the Christmas tree when starting up.
VolJeeper is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 02:22 PM
Wheeler
 
snaggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Plymouth, MI
Posts: 71
Feedback: 0 reviews

You need an AEV Procal, Superchips or similar to correct for tire diameter difference. The factory cal is based on stock tires and the ABS and ESP rely on that. I use a Procal $159 at Quadratec
snaggy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 02:25 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
VolJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 35
Feedback: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaggy View Post
You need an AEV Procal, Superchips or similar to correct for tire diameter difference. The factory cal is based on stock tires and the ABS and ESP rely on that. I use a Procal $159 at Quadratec
I have a Flashcal. Corrected diameter with that already.
VolJeeper is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 03:41 PM
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Age: 45
Posts: 39
Feedback: 0 reviews

Have you tried disconnecting the battery? It might reset it.
motorcycle matt is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 03:55 PM
Granite Guru
 
Mark915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Gonzales ca
Age: 48
Posts: 120
Feedback: 0 reviews

This happened to me on Friday I changed tires from 35s to 37s and installed a drag link flip. It sounds like your steering wheel is off center. Or the abs/brake control module "thinks it is" i had to adjust the drag link little by little (both ways) dive it after each adj. till the light/s went off. I have a 2010 thinking I wouldn't have that problem but i did. hope this helps. There are plenty of posts on this.
Mark915 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 04:20 PM
Granite Guru
 
SilverBulletJKU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Texas
Posts: 275
Garage
Feedback: 0 reviews

This sort of thing happened to me as well. I have a 2015 and after I installed everything and having everything (except for the steering wheel) checked, my front breaks started to freak out! I'm pretty sure that it was the abs computer having a little glitch but I'm not sure. It happened to me twice a few weeks ago but hasn't done it since. Just like Mark said, the steering wheel could be the problem. When this happened to me my steering wheel was off line. Hope this helps man!

'15 JKU/ 3" Synergy MFG Stage 2/ Fox 2.0 Performance Series IFP/ 35" KM2/ 4.56 Yukon Gears/ Currie Rock Jock 44/ ARB Locker/ Adams 1310/ VKS Fab/ Evo MFG

Last edited by SilverBulletJKU; 03-23-2015 at 04:23 PM. Reason: More info
SilverBulletJKU is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-23-2015, 06:07 PM Thread Starter
Wheeler
 
VolJeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Drum, NY
Age: 35
Posts: 35
Feedback: 0 reviews

I might have to find someone with a Procal because my Flashcal doesn't do the centering thing. I had the stealership center it when they did the alignment, but the light has still been on. I'm guessing that maybe what "looks" centered and what actually is might be two different things.
VolJeeper is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 03-24-2015, 08:39 AM
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Severance ,Co.
Age: 71
Posts: 403
Feedback: 0 reviews

Pro Cals like most electronic automotive products are VIN# incripted so they will only work on that particular vehicle unless restored to stock. You'll have to buy one.

2014 JKU, red, 2.5" AEV lift,6.4L VVT, 35" Duratrac's. 4.10, Gen Right bumpers, VR 8000 winch, Pro Rock 44.
scubatech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome