New to the forum with an ETC problem. - JKowners.com : Jeep Wrangler JK Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 Old 02-05-2010, 12:58 AM Thread Starter
Granite Guru

New to the forum with an ETC problem.

I'm new to the jeep scene and I've had my wrangler for a few months now and I only have 3k miles on it. On tuesday I had my engine on and using my jeep's sound system to entertain as we played basketball. All of a sudden the sound cuts off and I notice that my jeep turned off. When I turned it on it was idling for a few minutes before the electronic throttle control light came on.

Its a red lightning bolt and the check eng light came on as well. I read the manual and it said to turn it off and back on and it should turn off. It worked but as soon as I got on the road it came back on. My jeep shakes a bit when the indicator comes on and it seems to lose a bit of power as well. It doesn't turn off and I just stop and turn the eng off and on and it resets again.

I was reading online on the jk-forum.com that it was a problem that chrysler knew about and a few people said that their 07 jk's had the same problem. Some people said that they took their jeep in to a dealership up to 10 times and that the problem was still there.

I didn't seem to find anything on this forum about this ETC problem and I wanted to ask if anyone has had the same problem. I took my jeep in the very next day and got it back in 6 hours. Turned out it was a pcv valve that was leaking and causing the problem. I've had it for 2 days and I ran it for hours each day to see if I could get the light to come back on and so far its been fine.

I've read a lot of horror stories about the problem always coming back and I'm wondering if anyone knows about this problem and if chrysler has addressed it as it started with the 07 jk and I bought an 09 jk with 100 miles from test drives. Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 02-05-2010, 01:13 AM
Super Moderator

Garage